Cork prove far too strong for Tipperary in one-sided Munster senior Camogie final

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


Cork prove far too strong for Tipperary in one-sided Munster senior Camogie final

The Tipperary senior panel of players pictured before their semi-final victory over Limerick.

Defending All-Ireland champions Cork proved far too strong for Tipperary in a one-sided Munster Senior Camogie Championship final played at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork on Saturday afternoon.

Munster Senior Camogie
Championship Final
Cork 0-19 Tipperary 0-6

Tipperary were out-played in this contest and sadly ended the game with thirteen players following the dismissals of Mary Ryan and Ereena Fryday. The positive aspect to this experience for the Tipperary players, however, is that it will illustrate to them the level of Camogie excellence that you must reach in order to compete for All-Ireland honours. Another positive from this contest was that Tipperary gave this final everything they had. And, that sort of raw grit is worth cherishing despite the circumstances.

Tipperary have won eighteen senior provincial titles with the Premier County's last Munster crown materialising in 2010 while Cork were chasing their 60th title on Saturday afternoon and their fifth in six years.

Next up for the Tipperary team is an All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship group stage clash with Meath on the week-ending Sunday, June 10th.

The Tipperary senior Camogie team are managed by Niamh Lillis, Bill Mulaney, Cian Treacy, Aaron Whelahan and Carmel Bradshaw.


Despite the outstanding efforts of Mary Ryan and Karen Kennedy during the opening half Tipperary trailed by eight (0-4 to 0-12) at the interval having played with the wind.

Cork played a sophisticated style of Camogie and at times operated with just four forwards. And, although Tipperary were permitted to employ Mary Ryan in a sweeping role, which the Moneygall star performed to perfection, the Rebels out-numbered the Premier County nine-eight in the middle third on a regular basis.

As a result Cork were able to work the ball into the hand of a player who could measure a delivery to an inside forward or off-load to a runner. Midfielder Ashling Thompson, for instance, concluded the opening half with four points from play.

Efforts from Linda Collins and Ashling Thompson helped Cork toward an early advantage, but Mary Ryan roused the Tipperary support in the sixth minute when winning a terrific ball before setting up Cáit Devane for a brilliant point. Seconds later Devane added another and the sides were level (0-2 apiece).

Cork, despite playing into the breeze, then fired four points without reply thanks to the efforts of Ashling Thompson, Julia Thompson, Katrina Mackey and Orla Cronin (free) - by the 16th minute the home side led 0-6 to 0-2.

Tipperary needed a little encouragement and found it when Orla O’Dwyer won Sarah Quigley’s puck-out and drilled over a superb shot from long-range.

Cork, however, dominated thereafter with five more points helping the Rebels into an eight-point lead (0-11 to 0-3) - manager Paudie Murray had Amy O’Connor, Ashling Thompson, Orla Cronin (’50), Katrina Mackey and Linda Collins to thank for that series of scores.

And, Cork may well have enjoyed an even more significant lead had Tipperary ‘keeper Sarah Quigley not saved Aoife Murray’s penalty in the 24th minute following a foul on the raiding Linda Collins.

Tipperary enjoyed a goal-scoring opportunity of their own in first half injury time when Ereena Fryday picked out Casey Hennessy, but, unfortunately, the corner-forward’s ambitious shot flew narrowly wide.

Another Ashling Thompson point brought the opening half to a conclusion (0-12 to 0-4).


Disaster struck for Tipperary two minutes into the second half when former team captain Mary Ryan was cautioned for a second time and the Premier County were down to fourteen players when the Moneygall player was sent off.

Following points from Katrina Mackey and Ashling Thompson Cork led by ten before Tipperary hit back with a Cáit Devane free in the 36th minute (0-14 to 0-5); soon after Orla Cronin converted a ’50 and Tipperary were especially grateful to Gemma Grace in the 39th minute when the full-back saved an Amy O’Connor effort. A minute later Sarah Quigley was asked to conjure a terrific reaction stop before Amy O’Connor converted the resultant ’50.
In the 42nd minute a Karen Kennedy hook denied Amy O’Connor a goal as the home side turned the screw to a significant degree.

In the 46th minute Ereena Fryday collected her second caution and now Tipperary were down to thirteen players following a clash with Cork goalkeeper Aoife Murray - the Premier County trailed 0-5 to 0-16 at this juncture.

A point from Amy O’Connor in the 54th minute forced Cork twelve clear before Chloe Sigerson made it thirteen soon after with an excellent point from long-range. Next it was the turn of Pamela Mackey to add to her side’s tally in the 58th minute.

Tipperary stuck at it, however, and in the 59th minute Jean Kelly floated in a delivery which Cáit Devane won in spectacular fashion before being fouled for a penalty - Gemma O’Connor deflected Devane’s rasping shot over the bar (0-6 to 0-19).

A most obvious candidate for the player of the match award from a Tipperary point of view was Karen Kennedy and in the 63rd minute she was fouled following a driving run up the field. Hopefully, this Tipperary team can build a bright future based on the determination of such a player.

Cork finished with eleven wides (Tipperary: five) and seven shots dropped short (Tipperary: seven). The free count was 9-9.


Cork: Aoife Murray, Leanne O’Sullivan, Laura Treacy, Libby Coppinger, Hannah Looney, Pamela Mackey (0-1), Chloe Sigerson (0-1), Gemma O’Connor, Ashling Thompson (0-5), Lauren Homan, Orla Cronin (0-4, 0-3 ‘50s, 0-1 frees), Amy O’Connor (0-2), Julia White (0-1), Linda Collins (0-2), Katrina Mackey (0-3). Subs: (15th) Niamh McCarthy for Lauren Homan, (50th) Saoirse McCarthy for Julia White, (50th) Niamh O’Callaghan for Leanne O’Sullivan, (56th) Aileen Sheehan for Chloe Sigerson, (61st) Siobhán Hutchison for Hannah Looney.

Tipperary: Sarah Quigley (Nenagh Éire Óg), Ceannait Walsh (Éire Óg Annacarty), Gemma Grace (Burgess-Duharra), Karen Kennedy (Thurles Sarsfields), Clodagh Quirke (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Mary Ryan (Moneygall), Laura Loughnane (Thurles Sarsfields), Róisín Cahill (Kilruane MacDonagh’s), Ereena Fryday (Knockavilla Kickhams), Megan Ryan (Borris-Ileigh), Orla O’Dwyer (Cashel, captain, 0-1), Sarah Fryday (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Casey Hennessy (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Cáit Devane (Clonoulty-Rossmore, 0-5, 0-2 frees, 0-1 penalty), Grace O’Brien (Nenagh Éire Óg). Subs: (32nd) Ciardha Maher (Burgess-Duharra) for Róisín Cahill, (32nd) Sinéad Buckley for Megan Ryan, (HT) Caroline Mullaney (Newport-Ballinahinch) for Sarah Fryday, (47th) Jean Kelly (Éire Óg Annacarty) for Grace O’Brien, (49th) Aoife McGrath (Drom & Inch) for Clodagh Quirke,

Referee: Fintan McNamara (Clare).


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.