John O’Dwyer named to start in the Tipperary senior hurling team to face Waterford

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


John O’Dwyer named to start in the Tipperary senior hurling team to face Waterford

The Tipperary management team (Declan Fanning, Conor Stakelum, Michael Ryan & John Madden) pictured at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Sunday. Photo: Eamonn McGee

A resurgent Tipperary hurling team appear well-placed to take full advantage of a Waterford injury crisis this weekend. Blue and gold supporters will be hoping this week that Michael Ryan's men can build on their storming second half display against Cork and carry that form into the contest with Derek McGrath's Déise. Indeed, the Premier County enjoy a huge opportunity to get their championship campaign back on track when Tipperary face Waterford on Sunday, June 3rd at Páirc na nGael in Limerick (throw-in 4pm).

Following the dramatic draw with Cork the Tipperary team have one point to their name following two rounds of action meaning that Michael Ryan's men need a win this Sunday before completing the round robin stage of the Munster Senior Hurling Championship against Clare at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Sunday, June 10th.

There is one change in personnel from last week with John O’Dwyer coming in at top of the right in a realigned forward unit.

Manager Michael Ryan has named the following team to face Waterford:

1. Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)
2. Seán O’Brien (Newport)
3. Séamus Kennedy (St Mary’s Clonmel)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)
5. Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
6. Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields, captain)
7. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
8. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
9. Billy McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields)
10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Jason Forde (Silvermines)
12. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
14. Séamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)
15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

16. Daragh Mooney (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)
17. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
18. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
19. Ger Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)
20. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)
21. Seán Curran (Mullinahone)
22. Paudie Feehan (Killenaule)
23. Alan Flynn (Kiladangan)
24. Donagh Maher (Burgess)
25. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
26. Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg)


Last Sunday Waterford lost out to Clare (2-19 to 2-27) meaning that the Déise will be ravenous for the points this weekend. The Derek McGrath-managed outfit appeared in the 2017 All-Ireland final, but their preparations for the contest with Tipperary have been severely hampered by injury.

Tadhg de Búrca (broken collar bone), Barry Coughlan (three broken bones in his hand) and Darragh Fives (calf injury) are all understood to be ruled out of the Tipperary game while Noel Connors (back injury) and Maurice Shanahan (groin strain) are being assessed.

It is also possible that both Austin Gleeson (back and ankle) and Pauric Mahony (broken finger) will miss the game. The Bennett brothers (Kieran and Shane) are unavailable for selection while key player Kevin Moran was sent off against Clare.

Tipperary, of course, also have their own injury concerns to worry about (most notably Michael Breen's ankle ligaments), but there is no doubting that Michael Ryan has a much stronger hand to pick from, especially with players like Séamus Callanan battling their way back to full fitness.

And, Tipperary will also be nourished by the memory of their most recent collision with Waterford at Páirc na nGael - in the 2016 Munster final the Premier County roared to a 21-point win (5-19 to 0-13) over the Déise.


Sunday, June 3rd
Munster Minor Hurling
Championship Round Three
Waterford v Tipperary
in Páirc na nGael, Limerick @ 2pm

Munster Senior Hurling
Championship Round Three
Waterford v Tipperary
in Páirc na nGael, Limerick @ 4pm


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.