Tipperary U/21 hurlers power to victory over Limerick in Munster semi final

Eamon Lacey


Eamon Lacey



Tipperary U/21 hurlers power to victory over Limerick in Munster semi final

Tipperary ......... 1-22


Tipperary powered their way through to an U/21 Munster hurling final with an impressive display against Limerick at Semple Stadium this evening.
A goal after nine  minutes of the second half from David Gleeson who finished beautifully to the net after running onto a long range delivery from Brian McGrath put Tipperary in total control of this game increasing an eight point first half lead out to eleven .
Limerick managed a late goal from substitue Kevin Howard but at that stage it was only a consolation score as Tipperary ran out comfortable winners by nine points before a crowd of 3460.
Man of the match Mark Kehoe scored five points on the night as Tipperary put in a stylish performance to take control of this game from very early on and secure a Munster final clash agains t Cork

The foundation for this victory was put down in the first half when Tipperary put inan impressive display to work up a well deserved eight point lead.
Tipperary completely dominated the first half with some absolutely terrific striking involved in the taking of spectacular long range frees.
Tipperary scored eleven out of their first half tally of thirteen from play with some exquisite scores taken by Mark Kehoe, and JakeMorris in particular.
The pair were responsible for seven of those eleven scores from play wth four coming from the Kilsheelan man whose first touch and striking was a joy to watch.Morris picked off three from play, all long range beauties from play.
A brace from play from the impressive midfielder Colin English and one apiece from from Jerome Cahill and Ger Browne along with two Brian McGrath frees made up the Tipp first half tally.
In response Limerick scored just five points in that first half but could have been closer to Tipp at the break had Barry Murphy's ferociously struck penalty in injury time found the net.Instead it cannoned back off the crossbar.

Ciaran Barrett,Podge Campion,Brian McGrath,Killian O Dwyer,Cian Flanagan,Paddy Cadell,Dillon Quirke,Ger Browne,Colin English,Jeroime Cahill,Paudie Feehan,Mark Kehoe,David Gleeson,Jake Morris,Lyndon Fairbrother.
Scorers Mark Kehoe 0.5,Jake Morris 0.3,Colin English 0.3,Brian McGrath 0.3f's,Jerome Cahill 0.1,Ger Browne 0.2,Lyndon Fairnbbrother 0.3f's,David Gleeson 1.0,Cian Darcy 0-1,Darragh Woods 0.1
subs Cian Darcy for Lyndon Fairbrother,Craig Morgan for Dillon Quirke, Darragh Woods for David Gleeson,Conor Stakulem for Jerome Cahill,, for Michael Purcell for Cian Flkanagan

Jamie Power,Brian Timmons,Josh Adams,John Flynn,Wilie O Mear,Kyle Hayes,Thomas Grimes,Paddy O Loughlin,Miker Mackey,Brian Ryan,Barry Murphy,Conar Boylan,Peter Casy,Seamus FlanaganMark O Dwyer
Scorers Barry Murphy 0.4f,s,Conor Boylan 0.1,Ryan Rian 0.1,Willie O Meara0.1,Paddy O Loughlin 0.2,Pewter Casey 0.1,Michael Houlihan 0.2f's,Kevin Howard 1.0,Oisin Reilly 0.1

Subs Darren O Connell for Mark O Dwyer,Oisin O Reilly for Seamus Flanagan,Michael houlihan for Brian Ryan,,Kevin Howard for Mike Mackey,Brian O Grady for Barry Murphy

Referee Rory McCann(Clare)