Tipperary's Gary Ryan is inducted into the UL Sports 'Hall of Fame'

Sports Reporter


Sports Reporter



Tipperary's Gary Ryan is inducted in the UL Sports 'Hall of Fame'

Gary Ryan.

Kilcommon native Gary Ryan has been inducted in the University of Limerick 'Hall of Fame' alongside seven other outstanding sportspeople - this is the third set of inductees to be recognised bringing to thirty-one the number of athletes honoured as UL Sports Hall of Fame members since the launch of the scheme in 2013.

The 'Hall of Fame' serves as a permanent tribute to and recognition of the many outstanding sporting achievements of past and present members of the UL campus community for excellence in achievement and/or service to sport.

The 2018 UL Sports 'Hall of Fame' inductees include: Martin Comerford (hurling), Dr Tom Comyns (athletics), Rosie Foley (rugby), Anna Geary (Camogie), Valerie Mulcahy (Gaelic Football), Paul O’Connell (rugby), Gary Ryan (athletics) and Rosemary Ryan (athletics).

Over the last forty-five years the University of Limerick has made a unique contribution to sport regionally, nationally and internationally. The University takes a leading role in the provision of teaching and research programmes in physical education and sports science in Ireland.

Complementing the top class sports facilities at UL is the emergence of some of the most innovative and world leading sport-related research, giving UL students the opportunity to engage with leading researchers and use the latest sports performance analysis techniques, including cryotherapy research and the pioneering altitude training centre housed on the UL campus. 

In addition to its educational and academic role, the University of Limerick campus, widely known as Ireland’s premier sporting campus, has served as the training ground for Olympians, World and European Champions of a myriad of different sports. The Sports Hall of Fame will serve as a permanent tribute to sporting leaders in recognition of their excellence in achievement and service to sport. 

According to President of the University of Limerick Dr Des Fitzgerald: “These eight individuals will be remembered for their achievements, their commitment to excellence and the inspiration they provide to our next generations of athletes. They have reached the pinnacle of their sporting careers and have earned our highest esteem and gratitude for their contribution to UL Sport and I would like to give my congratulations to all of this year's inductees”.