Dominant Drom & Inch march into Tipperary minor B hurling championship final at Kilruane’s expense

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


Dominant Drom & Inch march into Tipperary minor B hurling championship final at Kilruane’s expense

Thanks to an eye-catching fourteen-point win over Kilruane MacDonagh’s an utterly dominant Drom & Inch team marched into the final of the Tipperary Water County Minor B Hurling Championship on Sunday afternoon at Templederry.

Tipperary Water County Minor B
Hurling Championship Semi-Final
Drom & Inch 3-13 Kilruane MacDonagh’s 0-8

The Mid champions are managed by a combination of Mathew Buckley, David Collins, Séamus Callanan, Martin Everard and Martin McGrath. And, it is obvious that a significant coaching job has been done with this group of Drom & Inch players.

Although Fintan Purcell, Lorcan Campion, John Campion and Paudie Kinane starred in Sunday’s county semi-final the most noteworthy aspect to Drom & Inch’s victory was their composure on the ball and careful use of possession. Indeed, Drom’s dynamic combination play came to the fore especially when Kilruane found themselves carved open for the three goal-scoring opportunities which ultimately decided the contest.


Playing with the aid of a strong breeze during in the first half Kilruane started reasonably well when points from Kian O’Kelly (two) and Seán McAdams (two frees) gave their supporters plenty to shout about during the opening twenty-six minutes. The problem, however, was that Drom & Inch were more than capable of working the ball into scoring positions despite the prevailing elements. Indeed, thanks to efforts from John Campion (four, three frees), Lorcan Campion and Paudie Kinane Drom & Inch led 0-6 to 0-4.

The Kilruane defence had creaked under the pressure on a couple of notable occasions before Paudie Kinane scooted in to score a smashing left-handed goal in the 28th minute - please note that Lorcan Campion won a ruck against the odds and picked out his inside forward with a terrific ball during the preamble to this strike.

Kinane added a point from play soon after and when the corner-forward was fouled in the 30th minute John Campion converted the placed ball to present his side with a significant 1-8 to 0-4 interval advantage.


John Campion and Devlin Courtney traded efforts immediately after the break before Drom & Inch struck for their second goal in the 37th minute.

Again, the sensible approach play of the Mid champions was noteworthy. Instead of taking on a shot from a tight angle Ben Stapleton recycled the ball into the hand of Lorcan Campion who had timed his supporting run expertly; Campion drew the defensive cover before picking out Jack Lillis and the corner-forward finished smartly (2-9 to 0-5).

Devlin Courtney responded for Kilruane before Ben Stapleton brought ten scoreless minutes to a conclusion in the 48th when he benefitted from slick combination play which featured Tony Cahill and Lorcan Campion - Stapleton shortened the grip cleverly before applying the finish (3-9 to 0-6).

Jack Lillis (two, one free), Lorcan Campion and Paudie Kinane added to the Drom & Inch tally during the final quarter before efforts from Kian O’Kelly (free) and Mathew Spain brought the scoring to a conclusion.


Drom & Inch: Colin Callanan, Aaron Ryan, Rory O’Dwyer, Andy Mullins, Jack Ryan, Fintan Purcell, John Ryan, Jamie Ryan, John Campion (0-6, 0-4 frees), Jimmy Mullins, Lorcan Campion (0-2), Tony Cahill, Paudie Kinane (1-3), Ben Stapleton (1-0), Jack Lillis (1-2, 0-1 frees). Subs: (53rd) Paul Glasheen for Paudie Kinane, (53rd) Darragh Kennedy for Ben Stapleton, (55th) James Kennedy for Andy Mullins, (60th) Ethan Blake for John Campion, (60th) Brian Moore for Jimmy Mullins.

Kilruane MacDonagh’s: Kevin McDonald, Louis Kennedy, Páidí Williams, Aaron Morgan, Niosa Minogue, Mark O’Neill, Owen Usman, Seán McAdams (0-2, 0-2 frees), Shane McAteer, Mathew Spain (0-1), Kian O’Kelly (0-3, 0-1 frees), Fionnan Minogue, Devlin Courtney (0-2), David O’Sullivan, Eoin England. Subs: (HT) James Loughnane for Fionnan Minogue, (HT) Luke Morkan for Louis Kennedy, (51st) Colm Cleary for David O’Sullivan, (51st) Patrick Hayes for Devlin Courtney, (55th) Barry Shanahan for Niosa Minogue.

Referee: Ciarán Timmons (Silvermines).


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.