Seamus O'Riain Cup Final: Burgess crowned champions in a game which failed to really catch fire

Noel Dundon


Noel Dundon


Seamus O'Riainc Cup

Seamus O'Riain Cup Final

Tipp hurler Donagh Maher fires over the winner deep into injury time

Burgess 1-11

Moycarkey Borris 0-13

Burgess claimed the Seamus O'Riain Cup this afternoon in Semple Stadium to go into the top tier in Tipperary next season as champions.

A game which failed to spark for much of the encounter, it came to life in the closing ten minutes when the silverware was being polished ahead of being handed over to the winning captain. And, the honour of accepting it went to Burgess captain Noel Gleeson after a winning point from Tipp star Donagh Maher came in the 32nd minute - the first time that his side led in the whole game.

After a very lacklustre first half, the sides were locked at 0-5 apiece at the break. However, Burgess, playing with the aid of a strong breeze had managed to hit nine wides in the half, and the advantage certainly seemed to be with the mid men.

A goal would be a massive score in this game and when it came it was badly needed by Burgess. Trailing by 0-11 to 0-8 , Ben Cooney struck to tie up the game again and from then on it was game on with both sides firing over scores as injury time ticked away. Then, Donagh Maher struck the winner and although Moycarkey Borris had chances to level the tie once more, it wasn't to be - Burgess were crowned champions on the day their 1993 intermediate county final winning side was being honoured as the silver jubilee team.