Liam Sheedy has named his starting Tipperary team to face Limerick on Saturday night

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


Liam Sheedy has named his starting Tipperary team to face Limerick on Saturday night

Tipperary senior hurling manager Liam Sheedy.

The Tipperary hurlers will face Limerick in the second round of the Allianz National Hurling League on Saturday, February 2 at Páirc na nGael, Limerick (throw-in 7pm) and Liam Sheedy has named his team to face the defending All-Ireland champions.

The Tipperary team reads as follows:

1. Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)
2. Donagh Maher (Burgess)
3. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
4. Alan Flynn (Kiladangan)
5. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)
6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
8. Robert Byrne (Portroe)
9. Michael Breen (Ballina)
10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
12. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)
13. Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg)
14. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch, captain)
15. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)

16. Barry Hogan (Kiladangan)
17. Ger Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)
18. Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonagh’s)
19. Jason Forde (Silvermines)
20. Tom Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)
21. Mark McCarthy (Toomevara)
22. Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
23. Jamie Moloney (Drom & Inch)
24. John O'Dwyer (Killenaule)
25. Killian O'Dwyer (Killenaule)
26. Niall O'Meara (Kilruane MacDonagh’s)

Meanwhile Limerick have named the following side to face the Premier County: Nickie Quaid, Tom Condon, Seán Finn, Richie English, Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey, Darragh O’Donovan, Colin Ryan, Gearóid Hegarty, Tom Morrissey, Conor Boylan, Aaron Gillane, Kevin Downes, Graeme Mulcahy. Subs: Barry Hennessy, Peter Casey, Aaron Costello, David Dempsey, Robbie Hanley, Kyle Hayes, Cian Lynch, Barry Murphy, Michael O’Brien, Paddy O’Loughlin and Pat Ryan.

On Saturday, February 2nd the Premier County are away to Limerick (throw-in is 7pm at Páirc na nGael, Limerick) followed by another away trip to Wexford on Sunday, February 17th before Liam Sheedy's men host Kilkenny at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Sunday, February 24th and conclude the group stage of the Allianz National Hurling League away to Cork on Sunday, March 3rd.

The league quarter-finals are scheduled to take place on the week-ending Sunday, March 10th, the semi-finals on Saturday, March 16th and the final on Sunday, March 24th.

Please note that a successful run to the final of the 2019 Allianz National Hurling League would involve Tipperary playing eight games in nine weeks.

Tipperary have, of course, lost the last two successive league finals to Galway and Kilkenny respectively while the Premier County have not won the competition since 2008. Tipp also lost the 2009, 2013 and 2014 league finals meaning that blue and gold supporters have now endured five successive defeats in Tipperary's last five league final appearances. Tipperary, however, still top the national league roll of honour with nineteen titles to their name while Kilkenny are second on eighteen.

Tipperary will launch their 2019 Munster Senior Hurling Championship campaign on Sunday, May 12th away to Cork.


Liam Sheedy (Portroe) and his management team, which features Tommy Dunne (Toomevara) and Darragh Egan (Kiladangan), recently named the following pre-season Tipperary senior hurling training panel: Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), Michael Breen (Ballina), Ger Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), Robert Byrne (Portroe), Paddy Cadell (JK Bracken's), Jerome Cahill (Kilruane MacDonagh's), Séamus Callanan (Drom & Inch), Willie Connors (Kiladangan), Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonagh's), Colin English (Fr Sheehy's), Alan Flynn (Kiladangan), Jason Forde (Silvermines), Tom Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill), Conor Hammersley (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg), Barry Hogan (Kiladangan), Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha), Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Séamus Kennedy (St Mary’s Clonmel), Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh), Donagh Maher (Burgess), Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Mark McCarthy (Toomevara), Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Jamie Moloney (Drom & Inch), Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg), Seán O’Brien (Newport), Joe O'Dwyer (Killenaule), John O'Dwyer (Killenaule), Killian O'Dwyer (Killenaule), Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonagh's), Dillon Quirke (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Jason Ryan (Toomevara) and David Sweeney (Kiladangan).


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.