Liam Kearns has named the Tipperary football team to face Down in Sunday’s All-Ireland qualifier

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


Liam Kearns has named the Tipperary football team to face Down in Sunday’s All-Ireland qualifier

Liam Kearns believes in Tipperary players like Brian Fox ahead of the qualifier against Down.

Manager Liam Kearns has named the Tipperary team to face Down in the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship round one qualifier which is scheduled to take place at Páirc Esler in Newry on Sunday, June 9 (throw-in 2pm).

And, if you are wondering where Cork’s 21-point Munster semi-final win over Limerick (3-18 to 0-6) leaves a Tipperary team which lost to the Shannonsiders (1-10 to 3-11) then fear not: every single person associated with the Premier County knows that performance was nowhere near a fair reflection of what this team is capable of. Indeed, senior football manager Liam Kearns was eager to emphasize his personal belief in the Tipperary panel this week when he asserted: “I believe in the character of these players”.

To read our interview with the Tipperary senior football manager please click here.

The Tipperary team for Sunday reads as follows:

1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
2. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)
3. John Meagher (Loughmore-Castleiney)
4. Shane O’Connell (Golden-Kilfeacle)
5. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers, Cork)
7. Emmett Moloney (Drom & Inch)
8. Steven O'Brien (Ballina)
9. Liam Casey (Cahir)
10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
11. Paul Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
12. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)
13. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen, captain)
14. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)
15. Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)


16. Michael O’Reilly (Clonmel Commercials)
17. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
18. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
19. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)
20. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)
21. Dáire Brennan (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
22. Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers)
23. Dan O’Meara (Kiladangan)
24. Ben Hyland (Father Sheehy’s)
25. John Lyons (Grangemockler-Ballyneale)
26. Jack Delahunty (Newport)


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.