Tipperary's All-Ireland intermediate ladies football final against Meath is now just days away

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


Tipperary's All-Ireland intermediate ladies football final against Meath is now just days away

Meath captain Máire O’Shaughnessy and Tipperary captain Samantha Lambert. Picture: Sportsfile

Tipperary's All-Ireland Intermediate Ladies Football Championship final against Meath is just days away - the 2019 TG4-sponsored All-Ireland ladies football finals will take place at Croke Park, Dublin on Sunday, September 15 - Fermanagh face Louth in the junior decider (11.45am), our beloved Tipperary team take on Meath in the intermediate final (1.45pm) and in the senior final Dublin face Galway (4pm).

And, you can attend all three games for just €25 (student, senior and under-16 tickets are priced at €10). Please click here to buy your ticket. 

Tipperary, of course, were crowned All-Ireland intermediate champions as recently as 2017 when beating Tyrone so famously in the decider (1-13 to 1-10), but were cruelly relegated from the senior grade in 2018. Meanwhile Meath will be highly-motivated to win the Mary Quinn Memorial Cup having lost to Tyrone in the 2018 All-Ireland intermediate final.


On Saturday, August 24 Tipperary beat Sligo (3-15 to 3-5) in the semi-finals of the TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate Ladies Football Championship - the Premier County were in terrific form in that contest and raced into a 3-9 to 0-2 lead.

The Tipperary team got the fright of their lives at Staker Wallace in Limerick in the quarter-finals when the Premier County just about edged a cracking contest with Clare (1-13 to 2-8). Clare were absolutely relentless and thanks to a Niamh O’Dea goal in the 48th minute the Banner led 2-8 to 1-9. With Clare tracking the Tipperary runners superbly and blocking Aishling Moloney’s route to goal on a regular basis the side managed by Shane Ronayne looked to be in trouble. Tipp, however, settled down and fired a rousing 0-4 without reply to book their place in the last four.

During the group stage of the competition Tipperary beat Meath (6-10 to 1-14), Longford (7-22 to 2-4) and Wicklow (4-17 to 3-12). Tipperary also won the Munster final this season when they beat Clare 0-20 to 1-4 in the decider. Tipperary progressed to the provincial final thanks to victories over Limerick (10-22 to 0-4) and Clare (2-15 to 2-11).

In their respective semi-final Meath beat Roscommon (4-20 to 1-12) and Wexford in the quarter-finals (4-15 to 3-14). During the group stage of the competition Meath got the better of Longford (0-19 to 2-9) and Wicklow (4-19 to 0-10) while the Royal County lost to Tipperary (1-14 to 6-10).


Tipperary secured their division one status in the Lidl National Ladies Football League with a round to spare thanks to a one-point win over Monaghan (1-15 to 2-11) while the Premier County performed admirably against outstanding sides like Mayo, Galway and Donegal.

The highlight of the campaign, however, had to be the display at Páirc Uí Rinn, Cork. Following a performance bubbling with ambition, hard work and real quality Tipperary beat Cork by a single point (3-13 to 1-18) - beating the Rebels, who were one of the favourites to win the All-Ireland senior title this season (Cork lost the 2018 All-Ireland final to Dublin and have claimed eleven All-Ireland titles since 2005), speaks volumes for the potential of Shane Ronayne’s fast-improving side.


Manager Shane Ronayne (Mourneabbey, Cork) is joined on the management team by Tony Smith (Moyle Rovers), Ed Burke (Moyle Rovers) and Sarah Jane Darmody (Ardfinnan) while James O’Leary (Arravale Rovers) takes responsibility for the strength and conditioning of the side.


Tipperary's 2019 TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Football Intermediate Championship final panel reads as follows: Anna Rose Kennedy (Aherlow), Caitlin Kennedy (Aherlow), Bríd Condon (Aherlow), Emma Morrissey (Aherlow), Samantha Lambert (Ardfinnan), Laura Dillon (Ardfinnan), Lauren Fitzpatrick (Ballymacarbry, Waterford), Orla O'Dwyer (Boherlahan), Caoimhe Condon (Brian Ború’s), Aisling McCarthy (Cahir), Aishling Moloney (Cahir), Emma Buckley (Cahir), Rosanna Kiely (Cahir), Orla Winston (Clonmel Commercials), Ava Fennessy (Clonmel Commercials), Courtney Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials), Anna Carey (Clonmel Commercials), Lucy Spillane (Fethard), Rachel Sweeney (Holycross), Katie Cunningham (Lattin Cullen), Emma Cronin (Moyle Rovers), Niamh Lonergan (Moyle Rovers), Cora Maher (Moyle Rovers), Róisín Daly (Moyne-Templetuohy), Muireann Llyod (Moyne-Templetuohy), Niamh Martin (Sliabh na mBan), Angela McGuigan (Sliabh na mBan), Elaine Fitzpatrick (Templemore), Maria Curley (Templemore), Marie Creedon (Thurles Sarsfields) & Sarah McKevitt (Thurles Sarsfields).


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.