Outstanding: Tipperary camogie team upset Galway to reach the league final for the first time in eleven years

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


Outstanding: Tipperary camogie team upset Galway to reach the league final for the first time in eleven years

Tipperary star Karen Kennedy pictured in action.

Whisper it, but there may be something really stirring in Tipperary camogie. On Sunday at Ballinasloe the Premier County beat Galway (1-8 to 0-10) to book their place in the division one final of the Littlewood’s National Camogie League for the first time in eleven seasons.

Tipperary entered Sunday's contest as distinct underdogs against a Galway team who are the defending league and All-Ireland champions, but the Premier County have gained significant confidence in recent weeks following victories over Dublin (0-14 to 0-8) and Limerick (0-10 to 1-6).

An early goal from Róisín Howard and six Cáit Devane points helped Tipperary into a six-point (1-8 to 0-5) interval lead and although the Premier County failed to score in the second half Bill Mullaney’s team defended heroically.

The result of the up-coming contest between Cork and Clare will determine Tipperary’s opponents in the decider - fixture details to be confirmed.

Tipperary last appeared in the camogie league final in 2009 and last won it in 2004.

The Tipperary senior and intermediate camogie teams are both guided by an identical management team which is led by manager Bill Mullaney (Newport- Ballinahinch). The teams are coached by Eddie Costello (Drom & Inch - Eddie is also an S&C coach), Dinny Ferncombe (Holycross -Ballycahill) and Brian Kennedy (Foynes, Limerick) while Carmel Bradshaw (Ballina) and Mary Howard (Cahir) are both selectors. Carmel Bradshaw also performs the role of logistics manager. Kevin O'Connor (Kinnity, Offaly) works as a strength and conditioning coach with the players while Kellie Byrne (Holycross- Ballycahill) is the team physiotherapist. Maggie O'Grady (Thurles Sarsfields) takes responsibility for video analysis while Peter Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) is the equipment manager and the kit man is Kevin Bourke (Drom & Inch).


The 51-player Tipperary panel reads as follows: Clodagh Quirke, Cáit Devane, Emer Loughman, Sarah Fryday, Casey Hennessey (all Clonoulty-Rossmore), Grace O’Toole, Thea Curtin, Emma Flanagan (all Newport-Ballinahinch), Sabrina Larkin (Shannon Rovers), Róisín Howard (Cahir), Ciardha Maher, Ciara McKeogh, Ciara Houlihan, Jenny Grace, Emily Morrissey (all Burgess-Duharra), Andrea Loughnane, Laura Loughnane, Nicola Loughnane, Karen Kennedy (all Thurles Sarsfields), Ereena Fryday, Beth Ryan (both Knockavilla Kickhams), Mary Ryan (Moneygall), Roseanna O’Donnell, Jean Kelly, Aoife Butler (all Éire Óg Annacarty), Claire Stakelum (Holycross- Ballycahill), Mary Burke, Aoife McGrath, Eimear McGrath, Miriam Campion, Niamh Treacy, Niamh Long (all Drom & Inch), Laura Shinners (Kilurane MacDonagh's), Grace O’Brien, Hazel McAuliffe (both Nenagh Éire Óg), Caoimhe Purdue, Karin Blair, Aine O’Dwyer, Orla O’Dwyer , Nicole Shelly, Sorcha Ryan (all Cashel), Ciara Ryan (Silvermines), Clodagh McIntyre (Lorrha), Sarah Delaney (Boherlahan), Shauna Quirke, Margaret Quigley (both Toomevara), Nicole Walsh, Julieanne Burke (both Borris-Ileigh), Emma Mulqueen (Kiladangan), Carol Casey (Cahir) and Aisling Sheedy (Portroe).