Carrick group bidding for success at AIMS awards


Carrick group bidding for success at AIMS awards

Thirty-six Carrick-on-Suir Musical Society members will travel to Killarney this Friday, June 17 for the annual Association of Irish Musical Societies (AIMS) Awards Weekend.

The Society has been nominated for four AIMS awards.

Three of the nominations are for the Society's production of “Sister Act” in March. Irene Malone is nominated for the Best Comedienne award and the Sister Act cast are nominated for Best Chorus and Best Ensemble for “Raise Your Voice”. Carrick Musical Society back stage volunteer Ger Dunphy has been nominated for the AIMS "Unsung Hero" award.

Meanwhile Fergus Power, who has tread the boards as a panto dame in many Carrick Musical Society shows, is taking on a new role as chairman of the Society's Committee.

He was elected chairman at the Musical Society's agm. Siobhan Grace Regan is the Society's new president while Ray Nolan is vice-chairman.

Other Committee officers elected to run the Society over the next year were Jenny Hogan (treasurer), Yvonne Nagle (secretary), Caolán Deehy-Power (PRO), Michael Lonergan (corporate & patrons secretary) and James Dowley (social secretary).

In other Musical Society news, eight students of Carrick on Suir Academy of Performing Arts recently completed grade examinations with the Irish Board of Speech and Drama.

Amy Flynn, Caragh Cahill, Clodagh O'Loughlin, Daisy Dalton, Emily Keane, Liadhain O'Shea, Megan McCormack and Robyn McCarthy were all examined by Mr. David Meredith. All the students achieved first class honours with Robyn McCarthy gaining a Distinction and Liadhain O'Shea winning a Gold Medal for the second year in a row. The Society congratulates the students on their success.