Ballygiblin-Mitchelstown Juvenile GAA Social was held in the Firgrove Hotel on Saturday night. Chairman Liam Lewis in his address welcomed the large gathering and paid tribute to all involved who helped to make 2012 such a successful season on the playing fields. Dave Harte, Treasurer Mitchelstown Junior club, and Michael Herlihy, Ballygiblin Adult Chairman, also spoke. The special guest on the night was Cork hurler Conor Lehane who presented the medals.

Under 6/7 Jack McGrath Cup. There were four teams in this competition. Blue: Eoin Flynn, Oisin Hanrahan, Robbie Lawton, Tristan Nolan, Conor Walsh, Colin Bailey, Conor Harnedy. Yellow: Kevin Cotter, Fionn Hanrahan, Jack O’Grady, Bobby Baker, Caoimhin O’Gorman, Danny Murphy, Mark Kent. Green: Eoghan Geary, Robbie O’Sullivan, Callum Burke, Tristan Caplice, Eoin Brennock, Darragh McNamara, Simon Whelan. Orange: David Conroy, Luke Keane, Donal Nolan, Paul Flynn, Bogdan Tkachuk, Niall Kenneally, Fionn O’Farrell. Orange emerged as winners and their captain David Conroy received the Jack McGrath memorial Cup from Miko McGrath.

The U14 hurlers had a great season winning the Feile na Gael (B) as well as the Rebel Og North A grade hurling championship and league double. Jack Corbett, Conor Coughlan, Killian Dollian, Aidan Donegan, Liam Finn, Lorcan Finn, Tadhg Finn, Kieran Fox, Mark Keane, Diarmuid Lee, Jack Lewis, Kieran O’Doherty, Paudie O’Gorman, Jack O’Sullivan, Cathal O’Sullivan, Sean O’Sullivan, Cathal O’Mahony, George Pendle, Dylan Reidy-Price, James Rea, Jack Roche, Killian Roche, Sean Walsh, Brian White. Selectors Pat O’Sullivan, Liam Lewis John O’Sullivan.

The Minor hurlers took the Rebel Og North C/D league title. Jonathan Fitzgerald (Capt), Liam Allen, Paul Connolly-Murphy, Eoin Coughlan, Shane Frewen, Michael Lewis, Liam Molan, Christopher Noonan, Jack Norris, Ross O’Mahony, Laurance Burke, Jason Cott, Josh Evans, David O’Flynn, Darragh Kenneally, Diarmuid Molan, James Mullins, Diarmuid Noonan, John O’Donoghue, Joseph O’Sullivan.

Conor Lehane congratulated all involved in a very successful season. He urged the players to listen to their mentors and to maintain their interest in training.


Mitchelstown CBS Under 14 hurlers were in action on Friday when they played Patrician Academy Mallow in the Cork Colleges championship in Mallow. CBS led for most of the game and emerged victorious in the end by 6 -7 to 4-7. TABLE QUIZ

Mitchelstown Heritage Society will hold a table quiz in the Firgrove Hotel this Thursday, December 6, at 8pm. A great social night with lots of interesting questions for all abilities, spot prizes and delicious mince pies. Quizmaster John Hickey. E28 per table of four.


Local Girl Guides are appealing for toys and games in perfect condition to support ‘Aware’. Leave to customer service desk at Tesco Mitchelstown by Friday, December 7. Contact Liz Downes 0877689875.


Meditation Evening with Mary Harte in Ballygiblin National School, Thursday, December 6, 7.30pm. Organised by the National School Parent’s Association. Admission E10.


Galtee Wheelers AGM was held last Friday. Incoming Officers – President Danny O’Sullivan Snr., Chairman Dan O’Sullivan Jnr., Vice Chairman Seamus Barry, Hon Secretary Noel Considine, Assistant Secretary Donagh O’Brien, Treasurer David Conway, Assistant Treasurer Oliver Wimms, PRO Brendan O’Mahony, Facebook Clodagh Finn, Child Protection Officer Seamus Finn, Youth Co-Ordinators Robert Walsh and Niall Desmond.