Celebrations were held in Dundrum House Hotel on Saturday last for Nonie O’ Neill, The Cresent, and formerly of Ballyhane who was 90 years young on the day, and what bright and sprightly 90 Nonie is. Billy (Dixie) and wife Brigid and all her family who live locally ate and danced the night away. May you enjoy health and happiness for many more years.


The Cappawhite ladies who sent to West Cork on tour with Peggy Kennedy, and her crowd from St. Vincent’s Day-Care wish to thank Peggy and all her team of helpers and what a team they were, they couldn’t have done enough, to Anthony the bus driver, who not only drove the bus, but sang, did a spot of acting and was even a nun a one stage! Much thanks to Sr. Margaret and Ann O’Dwyer who drove down to Celtic Ross on Wednesday night and entertained everyone as only Ann can. Peggy roll on next year D.V.


Were in order for Peggy Ryan, Anacarty who celebrated a special birthday on Saturday last with dinner in Holycross with her son and family, cousins Mary, Eileen, Agnes and families.

Birthday greetings to Nellie O’Connor, Golden, can’t mention the age!


The four club members to represent St. Joseph’s Secondary School, Doon in the Munster Inter Schools’ League 2012 were Andrea Moore, Sarah O’Neill, Eibhin Stapleton and Martha Stapleton, sub Rebecca Madden. Well done to the team of five players who emerged with St. Mary’s Secondary School, Nenagh to represent Tipperary in the Semi-Finals played in Mallow on April 30. The Doon team was beaten by St. Mary’s Mallow who advanced to the final. Well-done girls.

The A.G.M. will take place on Monday, June 11, at 8.30pm in the centre. The agenda will include election of officers.


To Paddy Nolan, wife Agnes and family on the death of Paddy’s sister Kitty who was buried in Doon on May 26. “God rest her dear soul”.


U14B (Boys) West Football Semi Final Championship

Cappawhite 3-7 Sologhead/Eire Óg Annacarty 1-6

The Cappawhite lads travelled to Seán Treacy Park to contest this West Semi final on Monday evening last. The teams had met already in the competition where Cappa narrowly came out the victors. There was nothing between these two teams in the first half with Cappa trailing by 0-5 to 1-4 at the interval. The Cappawhite lads rose to the occasion after the break and served up a great display of team football. Cappawhite scored 3-2 in the second half. Well done to the both teams for a really entertaining and clean game of football.

Panel: Dean Kelly, Aodhna Buckley, Brendan Murphy, Liam Ryan, Alan O’Dwyer, Tim Meagher, Thomas Couglan, Robbie Quirke, Owen Ryan(0-1), William Barry(0-1), Rian Doody(1-3), Fraser Allen, David Murphy, William Armshaw(1-2), Ryan Renehan (1-0), Cian Moloney, Colm O’Dwyer, Fionn Brady, Cian Ryan, Ciarán Doody, Gearóid Lennon.

The management team are: Noel Buckley, Dick Quirke and Willie Meagher.

U14 B Ladies Football Semi Final

Cappawhite 4-8 Thurles Sarsfields 4-3

The Cappawhite ladies travelled to Thurles to contest the semi final of the U14 competition on Thursday evening last. This was the second meeting of the sides in the competition. Cappawhite had narrowly won the first game.

The Cappa girls started well and were in control from the start. They lead at half time by 6-6 to 1-2. However the Thurles girls came out after the break and banged in 3 quick goals which cut the margin to a slim 4 points. The mentors were left to sweat on the sideline before Cappawhite finally got to grips with the game and tagged on another 2-2 to secure the victory. Well done to all players for an entertaining game.

The Cappa ladies left all to the second half and against a stiff breeze to secure this game. They trailed by a point at the interval after Thurles grabbed 2 quick goals early on in the game. However this was truly a game of two halves and the visitors rose to the challenge in the second half and put in a great display. Well done to all concerned.

Good Luck to Cappawhite who now go on to play Lattin in the county final set for Bank Holiday Monday evening.

Panel: Kerry McCarthy, Katelyn Fleming, Lauren Hayes, Aoife O’Brien, Elizabeth Kennedy, Niamh Cleary, Ornaith Hennessy, Sinead Buckley(2-2), Jean Kelly (2-2), Eibhlis McDonald (0-3), Eimear Loughman (1-1), Aoife Walsh, Sarah Pollack, Aisling Buckley(3-0), Emily Thomas, Shauna Ryan

The management team are as follows: Kieran Devery, Marguerite Meagher, Michelle Breheny and Séamus Lennon.

Tipp GAA Clubs Draw

The club would like to thank all our loyal supporters who joined the Tipp GAA draw over the last 12 months. The 2012/2013 draw commences on Friday, June 8. This year the Tipp GAA draw celebrates its 25th anniversary. There will be 12 monthly draws and 30 weekly lotto draws between June 2012 and April 2013. Each month 2 cars must be won and each weekly lotto draw will have a guaranteed jackpot of E1000. The cost is E100 or monthly payment of E10. (2 draws free.) Contact any club officer to join the new draw .