U 14B Championship

Cappawhite win opening game of the championship

Cappawhite 5-09 Galtee Rovers (Bansha) 3-04

Cappawhite had a comprehensive win over Galtee Rovers in the opening round of the U14 championship in Seán Treacy Park on Thursday evening last. The win was all the sweeter considering Galtee had beaten Cappawhite 2 weeks earlier in the league final by a two point margin.

Cappa opened the scoring with a point but it was Galtee who got off to the better start with 2 quick goals and an additional 4 points. Fair play to Cappa though they kept their heads and fought back to be winning by 2 points at the interval. They drove on from this after the break with a great team display of hurling. They managed to restrict Bansha to only 1 goal in the second half while converting an additional 2-6. Well done both teams on a great display of hurling.

The team panel and scorers are as follows: Ryan Renehan, Fraser Allen, Aodhna Buckley, Liam Ryan, Brendan Murphy, Tim Meagher, Alan O’Dwyer, Robbie Quirke(1-0), Owen Ryan(0-1), Thomas Couglan , David Murphy, Rian Doody (1-05), William Barry(0-3), Dean Kelly, William Armshaw(1-1), Ciarán Doody, Cian Ryan(1-0) (for Dean Kelly), Dara McCarthy , Gearóid Lennon, Cian Moloney, Colm O’Dwyer and Fionn Brady.

The management team are: Willie Meagher, Dick Quirke, Noel Buckley and Ger Ryan (Bawn)


Cappawhite 11 scores Seán Treacy’s 2 scores

(At this grade goals and points are counted equally as scores).

Cappawhite travelled to Kilcommin on Wednesday evening last to contest this quarter final. The visitors were winning comfortably at the break by 6 scores but fair dues to Seán Treacy’s they kept the heads down right to the finish and snatched 2 scores near the end.

The U11 panel are as follows: Anthony Barry(2), Oscar Allen, Eoin Murray, Gearóid Ryan (2), Jack Armshaw, Michael O’Brien, Patrick Barry(2), Mikey Carmody, Gearóid Lennon (1), Dara Duggan (1), Gill Ann Quirke(1), Neill Clancy(1), Anthony Barry (1) and Aaron Renehan

The U11 management team are as follows: John Barry, Ger Ryan (Bawn), Seán Carmody and Martin McDermott