Our sympathy is extended to the relatives and friends of the following who died recently; Margo McCormack (Smith), Kells and late of Moonverrin, Drangan, Mary Brett, Newtown and residing in England, John Flanagan, The Stoke, Drangan and formerly from Roscommon. May they all rest in peace.


Margaret and John O’Dwyer, Dolly and Joseph Meagher, Alice Quinn and Hanna Leahy, Seamus Moloney and Percy St. John, Joan Boland and Kevin O’Connor


The Parish Lotto Jackpot is now €8,400. There were 4 Match 3 winners last week. Lucky numbers were: (2,12,24,25).


On Monday evening of last week, our Under 14 footballers suffered their first defeat of 2011 when Cahir won 4-6 to 3-7. The team was: Dylan Burgess, Thomas Hayes, Enda Keane, Barry O’Dwyer, Gavin Keane, Joey Noonan, Jamie Broderick, Cathal Mahony, Conor Clancy, Brian Anglim, James Lahart, Michael Boland, Shane Hannigan, Cameron Moynihan, Aidan Buckley, Brendan Kearney, Nial Mockler, Nial Keane, Eddie Hayes, Eoin Ryan and Conor Duggan.

On this Monday evening, our Under 14 footballers play their last game in the league section at 7pm in Anner Park, Cloneen when Ardfinnan will provide the opposition.

On Friday evening last, our Under 12 footballers were defeated by Clerihan in their last game of 2011 at Anner Park, Cloneen.

Like the Under 16 players, the Under 12s will now turn their attention to hurling.

On Sunday evening last, our Under 21 hurlers defeated Carrick Swans by 2-7 to 0-9 in a championship game played at Monroe. The team was: John Moroney, Jamie Moloney, Colm Dunne, Thomas Hayes, Gavin Strappe, Paul Horan, Eoghan McCormack, Shane Gorey, Damian Barry, Nicky Kearney, Neil Gleeson, Eamon Needham, Brendan Gleeson, Robert Meagher, Tony O’Brien, Keelan O’Neill, Stuart Broderick, Mark Fitzgerald, Aodhan Maher and Mark Slattery.

On this Friday evening, our junior hurlers get their first taste of championship action for 2010 when they play Carrick Swans.