The 26th Annual Milford Hospice Harvest Fair takes place on Sunday, August 21, at 1.30pm, near the unigolf facility located within 10 minute walk from Milford Hospice. The committee appeals for your support in donating goods such as clothes, books, toys and household goods. For details contact 061-485860.


Results for last week with numbers 1, 13, 15, 22 with no jackpot winner, Match 3’s & Lucky dips were: Elaine Ryan – Doon, Julie Walsh – Tipperary, Danielle & Joan O Mahoney – Oola, Chrissie Bourke – Oola, Joan O Doherty – Tipperary, Pat Ryan (Bob) – Oola, Mary Lonergan - Pallasgreen, William Hennessy – Pallas, Patrick Hennessy – Oola. Promoters prizes were Peter Gardiner & Donal Bourke


Every Tuesday in Oola at 8.30pm, all are welcome.


Anyone interested in having notes in included in the paper are asked to submit them by Sunday evening as late notes are not guaranteed to feature. Notes can be given to Cummins’s, Old Road, Oola, phone 062-75797 or emailed to pollyoola@eircom.net

Oola GAA Notes

Intermediate Championship Oola 2-8, Mountcollins 1-9.

Oola got off to a very good start in this match and were 1-3 up after 11 minutes with a goal from Kevin Heuston and points from John Clifford (1f) and Keith Bourke (0-2).Two goal opportunities were missed by Oola to extend their lead and this seemed to inspire Mountcollins who took control and went on to score four unanswered points to leave the half time score 1-3 to 0-4 in Oola`s favour.

On the resumption of play Mountcollins continued where they had left off in the first half and had a point from play after fifty seconds to leave a point between the sides. After nine minutes Mountcollins were on level terms when Brian McCarthy converted a free. Oola`s response was swift with a point from John Bourke on the eleventh minute and from John Clifford five minutes later to go two points up. Two minutes later Mike Curtin reduced Oola`s lead back to a single point when he scored from play. A mix up in the Mountcollins goal mouth allowed John Clifford in for a second Oola goal with 10 minutes remaining and a four point advantage. Mountcollins never gave up the fight and were rewarded with a penalty in the 26th minute which team captain Sean Gleeson scored and seconds later the scores were level when Mike Curtin got a point. At this stage with four minutes remaining the game was up for grabs and it was the Bourke brothers who showed the way for Oola with three well taken points from John, Ian and Keith. With time almost up Mountcollins had one last attack but had to settle for a point.

Team: Don Holmes,Padraic Ryan,Dan Riall,Don Anderson,John Bourke (0-2),Denis Moloney,Eoin Fitzgibbon,Conor Ryan,Ian Bourke (0-1),David O`Donovan,John Clifford (1-2),Daniel Quirke,Kevin Heuston (1-0),Pakie Bourke,Keith Bourke (0-3) Subs,Thomas Ryan for Denis Moloney(inj),John Heuston for Kevin Heuston.

John O`Grady,Pat Ryan,Joseph Landers,David Stapleton,Kevin Nolan,Shane Whelan,Brian Fenton,James English,Colum O`Shea,Timmy McGrath,Pat Breen.