Tipp’s finest chasing Pride 2014 title

Prides together: Aoife OMeara (2012), Mary McGrath, Donna Ann Breen 2013 and Donna Buckley (2011)
The launch of the 2014 Pride of Tipperary Festival took place at the Tipperary Racecourse last Thursday.

The launch of the 2014 Pride of Tipperary Festival took place at the Tipperary Racecourse last Thursday.

Thirteen beautiful young ladies from all over Tipperary turned out in their finest to take part in this years Pride of Tipperary contest.

Laura Jones, Chairperson of this year’s Pride of Tipperary Festival, welcomed all the invited guests and sponsors in the High Chaparral room of the Tipperary Racecourse.

“This year we are celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Pride of Tipperary Festival. How fantastic it is to have an event of this nature for the town of Tipperary and its environs. The Pride festival had become part of the locality’s social fabric for the last fifty years and is the second longest running event of its kind, after the Rose of Tralee Festival. Let’s hope it will continue long in to the future,” said Laura.

To celebrate the 50th anniversary, previous Pride winners, contestants and committee members returned to join in the celebrations.

The committee is delighted with the fantastic turn out on the night and praised the girls and their sponsors for their continued commitment to the Festival.

The Pride of Tipperary Festival has a history of working with local charities and this year they have teamed up again with the Tipperary Lyons Club to be the main beneficiaries.

“We are delighted to be the main charitable recipient of this year’s Pride of Tipperary and we wish them all the best for this year’s festival,” said Chairperson of the Tipperary Lyons Club Davy Quirke.

Attention now turns to the eventful programme of events including the Fashion Show in Ballykisteen Hotel on Thursday, July 3, a Penalty Shoot-out in Cooke Park on Wednesday, July 9, the Gala Dinner in Aherlow House Hotel on Thursday, July 10 and the Festival finale/crowning on Saturday, July 12 in Tipperary Town at 8pm.

Josephine O’Dwyer (21) from Donohill, Jenni O’Dwyer (24) from Toem, Sarah Quirke (21) Lattin, Ciara Fitzgerald (22) Tipperary Town, Eimear Toomey (22) Lattin, Tracey Barron (23) Oola, Aine Ryan (19) Anacarty and Jane McGrath (18) Emly.

Front: Hannah McMahon (20) Clonmel, Fiona Lawton (21) Pallasgreen, Maria O’Sullivan (23) Cullen, Rachel Carey (19) from Aherlow and Sinéad Ní Mhurchú (19) Ballyglass

For more information please contact www.theprideoftipperary.com