Well done to the 5 girls who represented the parish at the Gymnastics competition in Monroe last Monday, May 2. They were: Under 8 Rachel Butler, U. 10’s Aoibheann McGrath and Ciara Butler, Under 14 Vika Lacey and Under 16 Olga Lacey.

A special congratulations to Olga Lacey who won gold in her category and now goes on to the National Finals in Athlone in August.

Well done Olga!

Best of luck to those competing in the swimming this weekend in Clonmel, and also to the Tag Rugby competitors who are out in Fethard on Sunday morning May 22.

Watch this space for the date for the Athletics evening in Cloneen, which will be held towards the end of May, with those who qualify on the night going on to Templemore on Sunday June 26.


George McCarthy and George Stokes; Joan Boland and Kevin O’Connor; Pat O’Dwyer and Breda Nolan; Teresa Maher and Kitty Brett


The annual Whist Drive for the Missions will be held in the Community Hall, Drangan this Monday night May 16 at 8.45pm.


The Parish Lotto Jackpot is now €8,300. There was one Match 3 winner last week. Lucky numbers were: (9,12,17,26)


The annual Vintage Tractor Run will take place in Drangan on Sunday May 15. Meeting in Drangan Village at 12 noon. All are welcome.


On Monday evening of last week, our under 14 footballers defeated Mullinahone by 7-10 to 2-3. The team was: Dylan Burgess, Eoin Ryan, Enda Keane, Barry O’Dwyer, Gavin Keane, Conor Clancy, Jamie Broderick, Joey Noonan, Cathal Mahony, Thomas Hayes, James Lahart, Eddie Hayes, Aidan Buckley, Cameron Moynihan, Brendan Kearney, Shane Hannigan, Nial Keane, Nial Mockler, Patrick Carroll, Brian Anglim, Conor Duggan. The next under 14 football game will be in Anner Park, Cloneen on Monday next May 16 against Ardfinnan with the throw in at 7pm.

The second of our new GAA Lotto Draws was held on Tuesday May 3, in the club rooms at Anner Park. Numbers were (1,8,9.12) with no jackpot winner. The 5 match 3 winners were: Noel O’Brien, Stephen Morrissey, Lucy Power, Ann Kennedy, Tony Kennedy. The lucky dips were Luke Hackett and Bridget Kearney who will join Siobhan Dunne and Keith Morrissey to spin the wheel. The next draw will be on Tuesday next May 17, when the jackpot will be €1,300.

On Friday last our under 12 footballers were defeated by Clonmel Og. The team was: Frank Meagher, Michael Boland, Eddie Hayes, Conor Duggan, James Horan, Barry O’Dwyer, Eoin Ryan, Dale Murphy, Brendan Kearney, Jamie Broderick, James Fitzgerald, Miky O’Brien, Ben Hennessy, Pauric O’Brien, Nial Mockler, Sean Ryan.

This Friday evening, our under 12 footballers play Clerihan at 6pm in Anner Park, Cloneen.

On Wednesday evening last in Anner Park, Cloneen our junior hurlers were defeatd by Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams on a score of 1-14 to 1-8. The team was John Moroney, Dermot Molloy, Colm Dunne, Patrick Moroney, Richard Needham, Paul Horan, Eoghan McCormack, Shane Gorey, Damian Barry, Conor Barry, Liam Brett, Darren Meagher, Nicky Kearney, Tony O’Brien, Robert McCormack, Jason Hayes, Tom O’Connor, Kieran Clancy, Aarron Cronin, Robert Meagher, Keelan O’Neill.

This Saturday evening, our minor footballers play Killenaule in the final of the County minor football league at 7pm in Mullinahone.

On Sunday our under 21 hurlers play Carrick Swans in the South Championship at 5pm in Monroe.