There is a Ceili Mission in Mitchelstown which started in the rural Primary Schools

of Ballygiblin and Glenahulla on Monday Nov 5. The Mission will also involve other schools in the Parish. From the 18th to 25th November there will be a Preached Mission. This is a Mission with a difference. Up to 30 people (Priests, Nuns, and Lay People are involved). There will be house visitation from 11th to 18th November where it is hoped that every household in teh Parish will be visited.


There will be a Public Meeting in the Firgrove Hotel on Monday night next 8pm to discuss the ongoing situation in relation to the proposed Leisure Centre. The last Public Meeting was held on March lst. This project is going on for many years

with a lot of funding raised. The issue at the moment is whether to have the Centre in the Canon’s Field or at Glanworth Road. Hopefully some progress will be made either way.


Mike Leahy Castleterry and Ned Coughlan Killeamara, Ger Leahy and Tom Davern

Ballylanders, Paddy Leonard Nutgrove and Bridie Moloney Mitchelstown, Paddy Coughlan Skeheen and Mick Hanley Ballinwillin, Tom O’Callaghan Knockadea and Mossie McCarthy Glenroe, Tommy Hennessy Ballindangan and Maureen Kenneally

Mitchelstown Secret Games Ann Coughlan Ballindangan and John Morey Kildorrery Jim Cotter Anglesboro and Margaret O’Brien Ballindangan Raffle Joan O’Brien Glenroe, Tom Lyons Knockadea, Mick Hanley Mitchelstown and Paddy Coughlan

Skeheen, Maureen Kenneally Mitchelstown and Tommy Hennessy Ballindangan.



Ballygiblin GAA Club will hold a fundraising night of drama on Saturday night November 24 at the Firgrove Hotel 8pm when they bring on stage ‘The Pull’. This is a superb comedy suitable for all ages. It is based on the fictional Ballybore GAA Club which runs up a debt that is not nearly as big as they think. Basically, there only $1000.00 in debt but it seems like $1 Million to the main people involved in the club.

The plot is based around their efforts when they set about trying to solve trhe problem and decide to pull a dump truck around their home town to raise money. It is a hilarious show and well worth a visit.


The death occurred on October 26 at his residence Kilally Kilworth of John (Johnny) O’Brien who was well known in farming and sporting circles. His popularity was borne out in the very large and represented attendance that attended the family home on the Saturday and Sunday as well as at the removal on Sunday evening to St. Martin’s Church Kilworth. There was also a huge gathering at the Requiem Mass and burial on Monday. Interment took place to Kilcrumper Old Cemetery. To his wife Eileen, daughters Brenda, Carmel sons Sean and Richard, brothers Denis, Dick, Willie, Jim, Paddy, Dave, Gerard, sister Eileen, extended family and friends we tender our sincere sympathy


The death occurred on November 4 at his residence 12 Church St Mitchelstown peacefully of Jimmy Walsh, The late Jimmy was well known locally being a member of the Walsh family Licensed Premises at Lr Cork St. Mitchelstown. There was a very large and represented attendance at the removal on Monday evening from O’Brien’s Funeral Home to the Parish Church and also at the Requiem Mass and burial on Tuesday. Interment took place to Brigown New Cemetery. To his wife Mary, sons John, Kieran daughters Ann and Fiona, sisters Mai (Cleary) Nora (Ryan) Ann (Quane) family, brothers in law, sisters in law, nephews, nieces, relatives, neighbours and friends we tender our sincere sympathy.


Congratulations to Kildorrery Junior A hurlers who were successful in the Co final replay with Brian Dillons on Sunday in Pairc UI Rinn. The ‘Hill finished well with a later goal by Finbarr Stapleton and two points by impressive Peter O Brien to see them take the title for the first time by 2 - 8 to 0 – 13. Kildorrery will now be away to Waterford champions in the Munster club. Panel Liam Kelly, Niall Kelly, Sean Kelly, David Kelly, Peter O’Brien, Sean Walsh, Michael Lillis, Richie Lillis, Michael Walsh,

Tom Monaghan, Cormac O’Baoill, Shane Fitzgerald, Eamon O’Connor, Jerry McCarthy, William Fouhy, Richie McEniry, James McEniry, Finbarr Stapleton, Dave Roche, Noel Dunne, Lorcan McLoughlan, Liam O’Keeffe, John Howard, Kieran Murphy, Stephen Guerin, Barry Young, Jason Walsh, James O’Sullivan.