Mitchelstown Minor A footballers lost out by a single point to Kanturk in the Rebel Og MAFC at Doneraile on Thursday evening. The winners led 0-6 to 0- 3 at half time. Mitchelstown did well in the last quarter and a series of points had them well in the hunt in the closing moments. Time ran out and Kanturk were victorious by 1-11 to 1-10. Team Liam Molan, David Sheehan, Shane Frewen, Diarmuid Molan, Liam Allen, Sean Lane 0-1, Eoin Coughlan, Michael Walsh 0-2, Brian Murphy, Ryan Quirke 0-1, Jason Cott 1-5 (0-3f) Joseph O’Sullivan, Christopher Noonan, Anthony Fitzgibbon, James Gubbins, Subs Dylan Considine for Anthony Fitzgibbon, Robert O’Doherty for James Gubbins.

Mitchelstown Junior A footballers will meet Buttevant in the JAFC quarter final on Sunday August 12 in Kildorrery 7pm Ballygiblin Junior A hurlers have also been drawn again Buttevant in the premier JHC quarter final. This game will also take place in Buttevant on Saturday, July 28, In the JBFC(2) Mitchelstown are due to meet Kildorrery in the quarter final in Glanworth on Friday, August 3, 7.30pm.

Ballygiblin has been selected as the venue for the Co. IHC quarter final between Fermoy and Kilworth on Sunday August 5. Ballygiblin Minor C hurlers had a good win over St Mark’s in the championshipat Meelin on Thursday evening last against St Mark’s. The final score was 0-14 to 1-6. Team : J Fitzgerald, E Coughlan, J O’Donoghue, M Lewis, S Frewen, C Noonan, J O’Sullivan 0-8 D Molan 0-2, L Molan 0-1, J Cott 0-3, D Noonan, P Connolly-Murphy, L Burke, J Magnier, C Coughlan.


Kildorrery Under 21 B footballers lost out to a well balanced Iveleary side in the Co Under 21 B FC final at Pairc Ui Rinn on Saturday. It was a game where Kildorrery struggled all through being behind 1-5 to 0-1. Early in the second half Kildorrery got back within a point when James O’Sullivan had a goal 1-6 to 1- 5. However, it was Iveleary who did very well in the last quarter emerging winners by 1-14 to 1-7 in the end. Team : James Dwane, Liam McGrath, Michael Lillis, Stephen Guerin, Fintan Daly, Cormac O’Baoill 0-1, Niall Kelly, William Fouhy, Shane Walsh, Anthony Palmer, James O’Sullivan 1-1, Finbarr Stapleton, James McEniry 0-1, David Kelly (Capt) 0-1f, Shane Landers 0-3, Subs Robert Coughlan for Anthony Palmer, James Magnier for Fintan Daly (inj). Kildorrery Premier Junior hurlers will meet Kilworth in the championship quarter final on this Sunday, July 29, 7pm in Fermoy.


The death occurred on Sunday, July 15, of Mel Beecher (Nee Lineen ) Church St Mitchelstown and formerly of Barrack St Tallow. The late Mel was predeceased by her late husband. There was a very large and represented attendance at the removal from Ryan’s Funeral Home Lismore to the Church of the Immaculate Conception Tallow and also at the Requiem Mass and burial on Wednesday. Interment took place in the adjoining cemetery. To her daughter Geraldine (Carroll) Mitchelstown, son Michael, brother Michael, extended family and friends we tender our sincere sympathy.


Mitchelstown Volley Ball Under 16s represented Cork v Clooney Clare in the Munster final at UL Limerick last week end. The silver medal winners were Evan Walsh, Cal O’Beirne, Richard Turner, Dylan Connolly, Paddy Pigott, Pierce Pigott, Ambarish Kumar and Josh Irwin