About Thurles

Thurles Bridge

Thurles Bridge

Results 30th March

1st Nuala Kavanagh and Anna Kiely, 2nd Marian Gleeson and Margaret Gleeson, 3rd Maureen Coman and Michael Ryan, 4th Kay Carey and Anne Lloyd.

Results 6th April

1st Maureen Coman and Winnie Quigley, 2nd Anne Lloyd and Helen Mason, 3rd Kitty Craddock and Kathleen O’Dwyer, 4th Kitty Keane and Marie O’Shaughnessy.


1st Maureen Coman, 2nd Anne Lloyd, 3rd Helen Mason, 4th Kitty Craddock and Michael Ryan.

Thurles & District Camera Club

Last week on April 13th we traveled out to the Cabragh Wetlands. The weather was favorable and members captured some fascinating nature shots. It was both a learning and fun experience for all concerned. As the darkness came upon us we ventured into the Wetlands Centre and viewed the nature scenes on display and tried out another photographic method, Painting with Light which created some laughter. The evening concluded with some light refreshments.

On Thursday a group traveled down to the Tipp Institute in Clonmel where Sarah Morris won a prize in a competition. Next week we hope to travel to Domineer, outside Nenagh. Anyone interested in making this trip are requested to meet outside Hayes Hotel at 7 p.m.

Thurles Morning Bridge

Results of 6th April

Mai and Francis Maher, Anna Kiely and Bridget O’Dea, Kathleen and Tom Simpson.

Results of 13th April.

Kate Nagle and Joan Kehilly, Margaret and Michael Maher, Joan Loughnane and Peggy Gleeson. Bridge every Wednesday at 10.30 a.m. sharp.

Thurles Commemoration of the 95th Anniversary of the Easter Rising

The annual Thurles Easter parade and commemoration of the 1916 Easter Rising will be held this Easter Sunday, 24th April, at 1.30 p.m. This year marks the 95th anniversary of this pivotal date in Irish history.

Everyone is cordially invited and the assembly point will be in Parnell Street car park by 1.15 p.m. with a start time of 1.30 p.m. sharp for the parade to St. Mary’s Garden of Remembrance.

This year the Thurles Easter Commemoration Committee is honoured to announce that the guest speaker is the renowned orator John J. Hassett and that the Moycarkey Pipe Band will lead the Parade. The Proclamation and the Roll of Honour will be read during the commemoration. This is a solemn occasion to remember the sacrifices made by our forefathers in the name of liberty. The Committee wishes to stress that this is a non-political event and all are welcome.

The Thurles Easter Commemoration Committee wishes to thank the Durlas Eliogarty Committee for their generosity in facilitating this annual event and the Thurles Gardai for their assistance with traffic control.


Community Centre

Progressive 25 Results 11th April

On 14 games, Mick O’Connell and Martin O’Grady, Johnny Purcell and Tom Allen. On 13 games, Ger and Pat Carroll. On 12 games, John Cosgrove and John McGinley.

Day of Prayer

The Marian Movement of Priests will hold a special day of prayer for the laity with emphasis on Consecration to the Blessed Virgin Mary in Rockwell College on Saturday, 30th April. This day is for everyone and especially families.

You will be welcome for all or for just part of the programme which will consist of Rosary at 10 a.m. followed by Confession. Holy Mass will be at 11.40 a.m. and lunch will follow from 12.30 to 1.30 p.m. Please bring what you wish to eat. Tea and coffee will be provided. After lunch there will be Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament and the Rosary.

Club For Dancing

The Club’s dance held in the Premier Ballroom, Thurles on Sunday, 3rd April was a great night of dancing to the music of ‘The Moynihan Brothers’. M.C. on the night was Michael Campbell.

The Club’s next Dance in the Premier Ballroom, Thurles is on Sunday, 24th April, dancing from 9 - 12, admission 7 euro, music by ‘Checkers’.

Membership cards are on sale at each dance from 8.30 p.m. to 10 p.m., cost of card 3 euro.

Millennium Bridge Club

President’s Prize Competition 4th & 11th April

Round 1

1st Anne Kennedy and Claire Maher, 2nd Peggy Gleeson and Josephine O’Dwyer, 3rd Delia Cullen and Gerard O Brien, 4th Margaret Ryan and Paddy Moran.

Round 2

1st Anne Kennedy and Caroline Coffey, 2nd Peggy Gleeson and Claire Maher, 3rd Mary Mockler and Josephine O’Dwyer, 4th Patsy Horan and Biddy Comerford.


1st Anne Kennedy, 2nd Claire Maher, 3rd Peggy Gleeson, 4th Josephine O’Dwyer, 5th Caroline Coffey, 6th Mary Mockler, 7th Gerard

O’Brien, 8th Margaret Ryan, 9th Brian Railes, 10th Lorcan O’Brien.

Thurles Morning Bridge

Results - 6th April

Mai and Francis Maher, Anna Kiely and Bridget O’Dea, Kathleen and Tom Simpson.

Results of 13th April

Kate Nagle and Joan Kehilly

Margaret and Michael Maher, Joan Loughnane and Peggy Gleeson.

Bridge every Wednesday at 10.30 a.m. sharp.

Thurles Bridge Club

Presidents Prize (Noreen Gleeson)

1st Round - 24th March

1st Marion McKevitt & Reena Ludlow, 2nd Joan Butler & Pat Stokes, Joint 3rd Philemona Maher & Pat Kilbane, Nuala Dowling & Patsy Durack, 5th Mary Long & Bill Rourke.

2nd Round - 31st March

1st May Long & Mary Jo Duggan, 2nd Joan Purcell & Bill Dowling, 3rd Patsy Durack & Jim Stokes, 4th Mary Phelan & Frances Donohoe.

Overall Results

1st Mary Long, 2nd Patsy Durack, 3rd Pat Stokes, 4th Nuala Dowling, 5th Marion McKevitt, 6th Bill Dowling, 7th Reena Ludlow.

Leugh Muintir Na Tire

A Progressive 25 Drive will take place in Leugh Community Centre on Thursday, 5th May at 8.30 p.m. The proceeds of this card game will be used to provide much needed equipment for a special hospice/clinic in Tanzania that treats people with HIV. This clinic was sponsored by An Post which local man P.J. Fogarty now retired from An Post helped to build. Your support for this worthy cause would be greatly appreciated. Tea and raffle on the night. For further information contact P.J. at (087) 9760845.

Thurles Education Centre

On Wednesday the 13th of April three students from Thurles Education Centre received North Tipperary VEC awards for their educational achievements. Margaret McCarthy (Thurles) received an award in Art, Craft and Design. Helen Reilly (Clonmel) received an award for Personal Achievement and Ann Casey (Nenagh) received an award for Educational Achievement.

We would like to extend huge congratulations to Joleen Reilly (Littleton) who won the All Ireland atom weight kick boxing title against Megan Maher in Thurles’ Sarsfield Centre on the 16th of April. Joleen displayed a high level of skill on the night and a determination and energy that could not be beaten. We are sure we will see many more wins from her in the future.

Phoenix Cabaret

Phoenix Productions will stage a Cabaret evening in The Source on Friday and Saturday 29th and 30th of April at 8:00pm as they launch their 2011 show Les Miserables.

The Cabaret will feature many recognisable numbers from shows such as Oliver, High School Musical, Annie and Oklahoma with many of the stars of those shows returning to perform. And, in keeping with the sense of excitement in the company for the forthcoming Les Miserables, Phoenix will also do a series of numbers from the worldwide success story that is Glee - a show which has taken musical theatre and the performing arts into unchartered territory.

The production team of Gerard O’Brien, David Wray, Aisling Doyle and Siobhan King are putting the finishing touches to the Cabaret specials and are hoping, as always, that Thurles folk will respond to the challenge to raise the cash necessary to stage so challenging a show as Les Mis. Ticket Booking 0504 90204.

1990 Bridge Club

President’s Prize Results: 1st Catherine Harty, 2nd Madge Russell, 3rd Nora Doheny, 4th Eileen Murphy, 5th Geraldine Morrissey, 6th Ann Sheehan, 7th Kitty Barrett, Joint 8th Francis O’Brien and Eileen Barry, 10th Michelle Walsh.