Tipp are hoping lightning strikes twice in Munster Senior Hurling Final

The stage is set for the clash of the Munster titans as Waterford hope to bounce back from their shock final defeat last season.

Waterford have qualified for their fourth consecutive Munster Senior Hurling Final the first time they have achieved this record based on consistency. Cork last qualified for 4 Munster Finals in a row from 2003 to 2006 while Tipperary last decent run of consecutive finals was from 1987 to 1991 when they qualified for 5 finals on the trot.

Tipperary’s Eoin Kelly was the top scorer in the 2011 Munster Senior Hurling Championship, scoring 4-16 (0-10 from frees) in 3 matches. Lar Corbett (Tipperary) was 2nd with 6 goals and 6 points from play including 4-4 in the Munster Final v Waterford. Pauric Mahony (Waterford) was third on the scoring charts with 0-20 (0-16 from frees) in two matches. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary) scored 2-10 from play to finish fourth.