First adult county hurling title for Kilsheelan-Kilcash

Kilsheelan-Kilcash made history on Sunday with its first ever adult county hurling title.

Kilsheelan-Kilcash made history on Sunday with its first ever adult county hurling title.

The long wait ended at Boherlahan when the South Tipperary club beat Moycarkey-Borris in the Junior ‘A’ decider.

It was a proud moment for club stalwart Sean Nugent. He was a member of the Kilsheelan club beaten in four previous county deciders but on Sunday he was not only a selector on the winning team but as county chairman had the honour of presenting the cup to captain Shane Prendergast.

The decisive score was a Patrick Larkin goal in the 37th minute.

Another fine performance came from All Ireland winning minor captain Bill Maher who had started a superb year for the club earlier in the season.

The better side on the day won – no question about that, even if the extent of their superiority was marginal. Having been knocked out of the Munster Club championship a week previously (senior clubs like Moycarkey cannot have their junior side in the Munster club championship), Kilsheelan-Kilcash bounced back in a most positive fashion, showing great determination and hunger. This was best personified by such as Bill Maher, Patrick Larkin and Adrian Walsh but Conor Davin Murphy, Donncha Lonergan, Wiillie Ryan, John Roche, and goalkeeper Ian Coughlan were others who greatly influenced the team performance.

Scorers Kilsheelan-Kilcash – J Roche(0-4,all fs); P Larkin (1-0); B Maher (0-2); W Ryan (0-1), A Walsh (0-1);

Moycarkey-Borris scorers – W Dempsey (0-5, all fs); R Clancy, C Ryan, J Fanning, G Carey 0-1 each;

Kilsheelan-Kilcash – Ian Coughlan; David Corcoran, James Ryan, Kevin Larkin; Conor Davin Murphy, Shane Prendergast, Donncha Lonergan; Tommy Ryan, Willie Ryan; Adriane Walsh, Niall Walsh, Patrick Larkin; Eddie Sweeney, John Roche, Bill Maher; Sub – Alex Harte for Sweeney;

Moycarkey-Borris – James Doran; Jeff Fallon, Stephen Kirwan, Eamon Ryan; Gerry McGuire, Pat Molloy, Gary O Connell; Ger Carey, Paudie Doran; Jamie Fanning, Willie Dempsey, Daniel Kirby; Cathal Ryan, Robert Clancy, Rory O Regan; Subs- Conor Hayes for Carey; Michael Roche for P Doran

Ref- Phil Kelly, Ballinahinch