Here is the Tipperary panel of players set to take part in the AIG Fenway Classic

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


Here is the Tipperary panel of players set to take part in the AIG Fenway Classic

Tipperary’s Michael Breen, Noel McGrath and Séamus Callanan pictured at Dublin Airport. Photo: Sportsfile

Michael Ryan’s Tipperary hurlers will this weekend compete in the AIG Fenway Classic which takes place at Fenway Park, Boston on Sunday, November 19th - the travelling party departed on Friday, November 17th.

On Sunday Dublin will take on Galway while Tipperary face Clare before the winners progress to the final and compete for the Players Champions Cup - the games will be played in the “Super 11s” format (forty minutes).

All three games will be broadcast live on TG4 - although the opening game (Dublin v Galway) in the competition will throw-in at 12.30pm local time the TG4 coverage will not begin until 5.30pm on Sunday evening. You can expect the semi-final between Clare and Tipperary to air at 6.30pm on TG4 while the final will air at 8pm (3pm Boston local time).

Galway are the defending AIG Fenway Classic champions - in 2015 the Tribesmen beat Dublin in the inaugural exhibition game 50-47.

And, the Tipperary panel of players reads as follows: Michael Breen (Ballina), Ger Browne (Knockavilla Kickhams), Séamus Callanan (Drom & Inch), Seán Curran (Mullinahone), Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonagh’s), Alan Flynn (Kiladangan), Tom Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty), Tomás Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy), Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha), Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh), Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh), Donagh Maher (Burgess), Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha), Paul Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Paul Maher (Moyne-Templetuohy), Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Daragh Mooney (Éire Óg Annacarty), Seán O’Brien (Newport), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule) & Paul Shanahan (Upperchurch-Drombane).


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.