Kiladangan thunder to a terrific North Tipperary senior hurling semi-final win over Nenagh Éire Óg

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


Kiladangan thunder to a terrific North Tipperary senior hurling semi-final win over Nenagh Éire Óg

Kiladangan thundered to a terrific Hibernian Inn North Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship semi-final replay win over a hugely disappointing Nenagh Éire Óg side on Saturday evening. At a soaking wet Templederry Garry Byrne’s team dominated from start to finish. In the end Kiladangan won with five points to spare (3-18 to 4-10), but given the quality of their performance the 2016 North champions deserved to prevail by a much more significant margin. Kiladangan are now expected to face Kilruane MacDonagh’s in the decider on Sunday, September 16th (fixture details to be confirmed). 

On that occasion Kiladangan will be chasing a fourth North title in six seasons (2013, 2015 & 2016). Meanwhile Kilruane MacDonagh's are chasing the club's first North title since 1990.

In round one of the competition Kiladangan enjoyed a bye while Kilruane beat Lorrha-Dorrha (3-22 to 2-14). In the quarter-finals Kilruane saw off the challenge of Newport (1-19 to 0-11) while Kiladangan dethroned 2017 champions Borris-Ileigh. In the semi-finals Kilruane dismissed Toomevara (1-18 to 1-13) while Kiladangan, initially, drew with Nenagh Éire Óg after extra-time (2-22 to 2-22).

The teams and scorers from Kiladangan’s semi-final replay win (3-18 to 4-10) over Nenagh Éire Óg read as follows:-

Kiladangan: Barry Hogan, Martin Minehan, James Quigley, Fergal Hayes, Jack Loughnane, Joe Gallagher, David Sweeney (0-1), Alan Flynn, Johnny Horan, Andy Loughnane, Ciarán Kelly (0-4), Willie Connors (0-5, 0-2 frees), Tadhg Gallagher (0-1), Darragh Egan (1-3, 0-1 frees), Paul Flynn (1-3). Subs used: Bryan McLoughney, Billy Seymour (1-1), Declan McGrath, Darren Moran, Eoin Kelly.

Nenagh Éire Óg: Shane Hennessy, Conor Ryan, John Brennan, Conor McCarthy, Barry Heffernan (0-1 free), Hugh Maloney, Andrew Coffey (0-2), Pearse Morris, Dáire Quinn, Jake Morris (1-0), Killian Gleeson, Tommy Heffernan (1-0), Adam Healy (1-0), Paddy Murphy (1-1), Mikey Heffernan (0-6, 0-4 frees). Subs used: Adam Carey, James Mackey, Adam Gratton.

Referee: Kieran Delaney (Toomevara).


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.