Search our Archive


Five Tipp players nominated for football All-Stars Awards

Two Tipp players nominated for 'Young Player of the Year'

Five Tipp players nominated for football All-Stars Awards

By Jeddy Walsh @TheNationalist

Five Tipperary footballers have been nominated for All-Star Awards when this year's nominees were announced today.

Tipperary who this year advanced to the All-Ireland semi-final for the first time since 1935, are rewarded with a nomination in all four lines of the field.

Kilsheelan/Kilcash goalkeeper Evan Comerford becomes the first ever Tipperary keeper to be nominated since the Awards were first introduced in 1971, testimony to the continued improvement of the All-Ireland minor medal winner of 2011 on the national scene.

Carbery Rangers clubman and former Arravale Rovers player Robbie Kiely who put in a fantastic year in the half-back line for Tipperary receives a defender's nomination. Regarded as one of the best attacking half-backs in the country, Kiely was cruelly black carded early in the semi-final against Mayo which many pundits considered a turning point in a close game of football.

Team captain Peter Acheson is nominated at centre-field. The Moyle Rovers player, a member of the Tipp under 21 team that made the provincial breakthrough at under 21 level in 2010 when defeating Kerry, was 'Mr Consistency' in all of Tipp's games this year which included qualifier victories over Derry and Galway, not forgetting the first win in decades against Cork in the Munster Championship.

In the forward division Tipperary receive two nominations with both Michael Quinlivan and Conor Sweeney nominated for awards.

Quinlivan, selected on the Sunday Game team of the year was outstanding all year for both his club Clonmel Commercials and for Tipperary. His late goal for Commercials in the Munster Club final against Nemo Rangers in Mallow won an historic first ever club title for the Premier County. The roaming full-forward was a breath of fresh air to the game of football at county level all summer long and was a thorn in the side of every defence he encountered from Dungarvan to Croke Park.

Ballyporeen's Conor Sweeney gets a deserved nomination for his great season also, especially in the championship games and chipped in tremendously with scores throughout. His goal into the Killinan end against Cork in the Munster Championship was brilliantly taken as was his ground goal from an angle against Galway in the All-Ireland quarter-final.

In the Young Player of the Year category Tipperary are doubly represented. Golden/Kilfeacle's Josh Keane who operated as a wing-forward for the most part all year gets a deserved nomination while Killenaule's Jimmy Feehan belied his tender years with some trojan performances in the Tipp defence all year, including a cracking first-time goal against Kerry in the Munster final in Killarney.


Evan Comerford (Tipperary)

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

David Clarke (Mayo)


Jonny Cooper (Dublin)

Brendan Harrison (Mayo)

Keith Higgins (Mayo)

Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)

Lee Keegan (Mayo)

Colm Boyle (Mayo)

Philly McMahon (Dublin)

Ryan McHugh (Donegal)

Cathal McCarron (Tyrone)

John Small (Dublin)

Patrick Durcan (Mayo)

Shane Enright (Kerry)

Declan Kyne (Galway)

James McCarthy (Dublin)

Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo)

Paddy McGrath (Donegal)

Robbie Kiely (Tipperary)

Killian Young (Kerry)


Brian Fenton (Dublin)

Peter Acheson (Tipperary)

Matthew Donnelly (Tyrone)

Gary Brennan (Clare)

Paul Conroy (Galway)

Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)


Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)

Dean Rock (Dublin)

Kevin McManamon (Dublin)

Paul Geaney (Kerry)

Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary)

Andy Moran (Mayo)

Conor Sweeney (Tipperary)

Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)

Paul Murphy (Kerry)

Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)

Damien Comer (Galway)

Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo)

Peter Harte (Tyrone)

Danny Cummins (Galway)

Patrick McBrearty (Donegal)

Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone)

Niall Sludden (Tyrone)

Player of the Year Nominees

Brian Fenton (Dublin)

Lee Keegan (Mayo)

Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

Young Player of the Year Nominees

Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo)

Josh Keane (Tipperary)

Jimmy Feehan (Tipperary)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.