Search our Archive


Goals shade it for Ballingarry in clash with Davins

Ballingarrys Adrian Cleere heads off on a solo run with Pa Harris of Carrick Davins in close pursuit during Sundays South Senior Hurling Championship tie at Clonmel.
In the South Senior Hurling Losers Roundd played in Clonmel Sportsfield on Sunday last Ballingarry were deserving winners at the final whistle

In the South Senior Hurling Losers Roundd played in Clonmel Sportsfield on Sunday last Ballingarry were deserving winners at the final whistle

The best hurling of the day was played in an action packed last 30 minutes with Ballingarry having to weather a storm from a gallant Davins.

In a pulsating game that never reached the heights of championship hurling a solid Ballingarry team secured a victory on the fourth attempt in South and County with Davins still awaiting a win

The game was only a minute old when Stephen Cronin pointed from 40m for Carrick Davins with an almost immediate reply from J P O’Brien for Ballingarry when a harmless ball into the square was touched on for a goal.

Davins next attack yielded a free with the result a point by Michael Cronin. The next free awarded to Ballingarry was pointed by Paul Butler 50m out. In the 10th minute Michael Cronin pointed for Davins with a free, followed by an excellent point from play by Seanie Cahill for Ballingarry in the 11th minute with an immediate reply from a free by Michael Cronin. Next came an exchange of points in the 14th and15th minute from Paul Butler (B) and Pa Harris(CD)

The score at the end of the first quarter was Ballingarry 1-3 Carrick Davins 0-5 .

In the 16th minute Davins were dealt another blow when Eamon Tuohy (B) made no mistake when crashing the sliothar to the net to extend his side’s lead.

We then had an exchange of points from J J Butler (CD) and JP O Brien(B) who scored the best point of the half over his right shoulder running out from the goal.

Carrick Davins got the next two points from play from Shane Butler and Michael Cronin before Eamon Tuohy struck a point from play for Ballingarry.

In the 25th minute Carrick Davins were awarded a penalty but Michael Cronin’s effort was easily cleared of the line by James Logue.

An exchange of points - a free for Ballingarry scored by Paul Butler and a 65m for Davins by Michael Cronin left the half time score Ballingarry 2-6 Carrick Davins 0-9

After the interval we had three quick points two for Carrick Davins Michael Cronin (free) and Shane Butler from play for Ballingarry Paul Butler (free). With the tempo of the game raised a little it was Ballingarry who drove on with two points in the 37th and 38th minutes from Paul Butler (free) and a good strike from Gerry Fitzgerald. Davins sub Josh Moroney picked off a point from out near the sideline to leave the score Ballingarry 2-9 Carrick Davins 0-12 after 40 minutes.

We then had an exchange of points in the 45th and 46th minutes for Ballingarry Adrian Cleere who seemed to come more into the game at this time and Lee Mackey the best Carrick Davins back on the day. Paul Butler pointed a free, before Michael Cronin matched it followed by a great point from play in the 52nd minute from JP O’Brien. Adrian Cleere added a great point on the run to consolidate Ballingarry’s advantage.

Try as they might Carrick Davins could not break down a solid Ballingarry defence and the final score of the game fell to Davins’ Lee Mackey who ran through the middle to finish in style with a score leaving the final score Ballingarry 2-13 Carrick Davins 0-15

Ballingarry: James Logue, Danny Fitzgerald, Dickie Norton, Kevin Fitzgerald,Tommy McGrath, Ger Fennelly, Jack Fennelly, Gerry Fitzgerald 0-1, Sean Doheny, Adrian Cleere 0-2, J P O’Brien 1-2, Seanie Cahill 0-1, Richard Butler, Paul Butler 1-5(4f) Eamon Tuohy 0-2, Subs Used Donal Shelley

Carrick Davins: Richie McGrath, Keith Condon, A J Cronin, Stephen Cronin 0-1, Lee Mackey 0-2, Willie O Dwyer, John Joe Ryan, Michael Cronin 0-7(6f) Pa Harriss 0-1, Stephen Moroney, Noel Butler, Gerard Robinson, J J Butler 0-1, Shane Butler 0-2, Raymond Cooke , Subs Used Josh Moroney 0-1, Billy Roche,

Ref: Noel Cosgrove (Marlfield).

All too easy for Ballybacon

Ballybacon/Grange 3-23

Grangemockler 1-10

In the South Hurling Losers Championship Ballybacon/Grange proved much too strong for Grangemockler.

They completely dominated in the opening period and led at the interval 0-14 to 0-6 and within five minutes of the restart were 1-14 when Brendan Cummins left the field of play for his RTE Sunday Game duties he alone had done enough having scored 1-11(one from play) before the game came to a 15mins stoppage after a spectator collapsed and Ambulance was called. At half time score Ballybaco/Grange 0-14 Grangemockler 0-6

After the break Ballybacon added 2 -4 without a reply in 12 minutes goals from Alan O’Gorman and Martin Ryan with points from Billy Hewitt 0-2 (one free), Johnny English, Philip Walsh.

Grangemockler did get a point from a free by Conor Hahessy with Johnny English adding a point from play for Ballybacon before Grangemockler’s goal to leave it after 50 minutes Ballybacon/Grange 3-19 Grangemockler /Ballyneale 1-8.

Ballybacn/Grange now progress on to play Cahir in the IH losers section Final.

Ballybacon/Grange: Philip Murphy, Miceal Sullivan, Diarmuid O Sullivan, Eoin Walsh, Brian Dillon, Peter Hally, Colin O Gorman, Aiden Savage, Jonathan Ryan, Billy Hewitt 0-4(2f), Gerry Cronin 0-3, Brendan Cummins 1-11(0-1 play),Philip Walsh, Alex Kirwan 0-3(1f), Andrew Heffernan, Subs Used Sean Nagle, Johnny English 0-2, Martin Ryan 1-0, Alan O Gorman 1-0, Colm Shaughnessy,

Grangemockler/Ballyneale: Shane Comerford, Aaron O Donovan, Willie Lambe, James Wallace, Brian McCarthy, Kirean Maguire, Michael Meagher, Nigel Cleere, Kean O Shea, Thomas Dineen, Enda Fogarty 0-2, Peadar Downey 0-1, Patrick O Connell, Michael Houlihan 0-2 ,Conor Hahessy 1-5(All F)

Ref: Michael Heffernan

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.