Search our Archive


Tipperary collect seven GAA-GPA All Star hurling awards

Tipperary collect seven GAA-GPA All Star hurling awards

Thurles Sarsfields' Pádraic Maher won his fourth All Star award.

Tipperary’s Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Ronan Maher, Pádraic Maher, Patrick Maher, Séamus Callanan and John McGrath collected GAA-GPA All Star hurling awards at a gala ceremony hosted by the Convention Centre in Dublin on Friday, November 4th.

Waterford’s Austin Gleeson won the hurler of the year and the young hurler of the year award - Tipperary’s Ronan Maher had been nominated for the young hurler of the year accolade while Pádraic Maher and Séamus Callanan were nominated for the prestigious senior version.

The 2016 GAA-GPA Opel All Star hurling award winners are as follows: Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill, Tipperary), James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane, Tipperary), Daithí Burke (Galway), Pádraig Walsh (Kilkenny), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields, Tipperary), Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields, Tipperary), Jamie Barron (Waterford), David Burke (Galway), Walter Walsh (Kilkenny), Austin Gleeson (Waterford), Patrick Maher (Thurles Sarsfields, Tipperary), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Séamus Callanan (Drom & Inch, Tipperary) and John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney, Tipperary).

On the night Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Ronan Maher and John McGrath collected their first All Star award and Patrick Maher his second (2014 & 2016) while Pádraic Maher was presented with his fourth (2009, 2011, 2014 & 2016). Séamus Callanan won his third (2014, 2015 & 2016) while the Drom & Inch man was once again denied the hurler of the year award despite being nominated for the accolade for the third consecutive year.

Tipperary have claimed the hurler of the year award on ten previous occasions: Tony Wall (1958), Liam Devaney (1961), Donie Nealon (1962), John Doyle (1964), Jimmy Doyle (1965), Michael Keating (1971), Nicky English (1989), Pat Fox (1991), Tommy Dunne (2001) and Lar Corbett (2010).

The player of the year and young player of year awards in football and hurling are voted upon by the members of the GPA while the All Star selection is chosen by a panel of journalists, media personalities and pundits.

This year the entire Tipperary All-Ireland winning team were nominated for a 2016 GAA-GPA Opel All-Star hurling award - in 2010, when Tipperary last won an All-Ireland title, the county earned 14 nominations. Indeed, never before has an entire team been nominated for the prestigious honour.

Since the All Star scheme was inaugurated in 1971 Tipperary have won 96 awards - Kilkenny lead the field on 183 awards with Cork second on 105 and Tipp third.

Clonmel Commercials' Michael Quinlivan is pictured above.


On the night Clonmel Commercials’ Michael Quinlivan was presented with his 2016 GAA-GPA Opel All Star football award. Quinlivan had been named on the All Star team on Thursday morning, November 3rd - the 23-year-old teacher is just the second Tipperary player ever to be selected for such a prestigious annual award. Moyle Rovers’ Declan Browne collected Tipperary's first football All Star award in 1998 and added a second in 2003 while Brian Lacey won a football All Star while playing in the colours of Kildare in 1998.

If anyone needed reminding of how far Tipperary football has travelled in recent years they were provided with a telling yard stick when five of Liam Kearns’ senior outfit were nominated for GAA-GPA Opel All Star awards while Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule) and Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle) were both shortlisted for the young footballer of the year award (won by Mayo’s Diarmuid O’Connor).

2016 GAA-GPA Football All Stars: David Clarke (Mayo), Brendan Harrison (Mayo), Jonny Cooper (Dublin), Philly McMahon (Dublin), Lee Keegan (Mayo), Colm Boyle (Mayo), Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Peter Harte (Tyrone), Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin), Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin), Dean Rock (Dublin), Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary) & Paul Geaney (Kerry).


Goalkeeper: Pat McLoughney (1979), Pat McLoughney (1980), Ken Hogan (1987), Brendan Cummins (2000), Brendan Cummins (2001), Brendan Cummins (2003), Brendan Cummins (2008), Brendan Cummins (2010) & Darren Gleeson (2014).

Right Corner-Back: Paul Delaney (1991), Paul Shelley (1997) & Cathal Barrett (2016).

Full-Back: Noel Sheehy (1990), Noel Sheehy (1991), Philip Maher (2001), Declan Fanning (2007), Pádraic Maher (2009), Paul Curran (2010), Paul Curran (2011) & James Barry (2016).

Left Corner-Back: Tadhg O’Connor (1979) & Michael Cahill (2011).

Right Wing-Back: Tadhg O’Connor (1971), Tadhg O’Connor (1975), Conal Bonner (1989), Conal Bonner (1991), John Carroll (2000), Eamon Corcoran (2001) & Brendan Maher (2014).

Centre-Back: Michael Roche (1971), Bobby Ryan (1989), Conor O’Mahony (2008), Pádraic Maher (2014) & Ronan Maher (2016)

Left Wing-Back: Bobby Ryan (1986), Bobby Ryan (1988), Paul Kelly (2002), Conor O'Mahony (2009), Pádraic Maher (2011) & Pádraic Maher (2016).

Midfield: Colm Bonner (1988), Declan Carr (1989), John Leahy (1991), Tommy Dunne (1997), Tommy Dunne (1999), Tommy Dunne (2001), Eddie Enright (2001), Paul Kelly (2005), Shane McGrath (2008), Brendan Maher (2010) & Shane McGrath (2014).

Right Wing-Forward: Francis Loughnane (1971), Francis Loughnane (1972), Francis Loughnane (1973), Nicky English (1983), Nicky English (1984), Nicky English (1985), Declan Ryan (1988), Michael Cleary (1990), Michael Cleary (1991), Mark O’Leary (2001), Lar Corbett (2009) & John O'Dwyer (2014).

Centre-Forward: Michael Keating (1971), Declan Ryan (1997), Noel McGrath (2010) & Patrick Maher (2014).

Left Wing-Forward: Aidan Ryan (1987), John Leahy (1994), John Leahy (1997), Lar Corbett (2010) & Patrick Maher (2016).

Right Corner-Forward: Pat Fox (1987), Pat Fox (1989), Pat Fox (1991), Michael Cleary (1992), Michael Cleary (1993), Liam Cahill (1996), Eoin Kelly (2002), Eoin Kelly (2004), Eoin Kelly (2006) & Noel McGrath (2009).

Full-Forward: Nicky English (1987), Nicky English (1988), Cormac Bonner (1989), Cormac Bonner (1991), Eoin Kelly (2005), Lar Corbett (2011), Séamus Callanan (2014), Séamus Callanan (2015) & Séamus Callanan (2016).

Left Corner-Forward: Tommy Butler (1978), Nicky English (1989), Eoin Kelly (2001), Eoin Kelly (2010) & John McGrath (2016).


Prior to the development of the All Star awards scheme the Cú Chulainn awards, run under the auspices of Gaelic Weekly magazine, ran from 1963 to 1967. During that period Tipperary won 26 awards.

Tipperary’s Cú Chulainn Award Winners:-

1963: John Doyle, Theo English, Jimmy Doyle & Liam Devaney.

1964: John Doyle, Tony Wall, Michael Roche, Jimmy Doyle, Michael Keating, John McKenna & Donie Nealon.

1965: John O’Donoghue, Kieran Carey, Tony Wall, Michael Roche, Jimmy Doyle, Donie Nealon, John McKenna & Seán McLoughlin.

1966: Theo English & John McKenna.

1967: Len Gaynor, Michael Roche, Tony Wall, Donie Nealon & Michael Keating.

No All Star or equivalent Cú Chulainn awards were presented between 1968 and 1970.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.