Munster minor hurling championship: Fourteen man Tipp minors leave it late to down the Bannermen

Noel Dundon


Noel Dundon


Tommy Dunne has named the Tipperary minor hurling team to face Limerick

The Tipp minor hurling management team led by Tommy Dunne.

Tommy Dunnes charges got their victory but still require other results to go their way to make it to the Munster Final 

Tipperary 2-14

Clare 1-12

Tipperary's minor hurlers got the victory they craved over Clare in the Munster minor hurling championship at Semple Stadium this afternoon with a great finish helping Tommy Dunnes side to victory.

This was a game that Tipperary simply had to win, and even at that they were depending on other results to go their way if they were to qualify for the Munster Final.

Clare led by 1-8 to 1-5 at the break, despite the fact that Tipperary had the perfect start when centre forward Cian O'Farrell goalled with minutes of the throw-in. However, Tipp struggled to stamp their authority on the game and a great spell for the visitors was capped by a Mark Rodgers goal in the 14th minute - a score which catapulted them into the ascendancy.

Tipp were left to fight for their lives and the sides were tied again by the end of the third quarter, before James Devaney edged them in front with an 18th minute pointed free. However, Tipp were dealt a bodyblow when defender Conor O'Dwyer received his marching orders having picked up a second yellow card  and moments later, Clare were back on terms when wing back Darragh Healy pointed a 65 metre free.

And a goal from wing forward Sean Hayes two minutes into injury time sealed the victory which came following a pulsating last quarter of play. Tipp had made a great second half recovery in this game and are to be credited for their great heart and courage.