30 Nov 2021

Tipp well beaten in Munster U-21 Hurling Final

Provincial Treble Dashed

Tipp well beaten in Munster U-21 Hurling Final

Tipperary's hopes of capturing a first Munster U-21 Hurling Championship title in six years were dashed when they fell to a 10-points defeat by Waterford in Walsh Park on Wednesday evening.

Tipp were well in contention for three-quarters of a closely-fought contest that attracted a huge attendance of 8,843 to the Waterford venue.

However they lost their way in the last 15 minutes, when they were outscored by 1-8 to 0-1.

Fine performances by senior centre back Ronan Maher, Sean Ryan, Paul Maher, Josh Keane, Willie Connors, Andrew Coffey and Stephen Quirke suggested that the U-21s had every chance of winning Tipperary's third Munster hurling title this year.

However a Waterford team inspired by senior star Austin Gleeson cut loose in the last quarter of an hour to seal that emphatic victory.

Waterford were ahead by two points when their late blitz went into overdrive with a goal of stunning quality, as senior player Stephen Bennett collected Austin Gleeson's clearance and flicked the ball over his head for the onrunning Peter Hogan to bury a shot int the net.

With other senior stars Patrick Curran, Shane Bennett, Tom Devine and Conor Gleeson also to the fore, Waterford coasted to the final whistle to claim their fourth provincial U-21 title and a first since 1994.

Tipperary - Brian Hogan (Lorrha/Dorrha), Paul Maher (Kilsheelan/Kilcash), Tom Fox (Eire Og Annacarty/Donohill), David Sweeney (Kildangan), Jason Ryan (Toomevara), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields, captain), Sean Ryan (Sean Treacys), Billy McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields), Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Eire Og), Josh Keane (Golden/Kilfeacle 0-6, 5 frees), Mark Russell (Lattin-Cullen), Andrew Coffey (Nenagh Eire Og 0-4), Willie Connors (Kildangan), Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers 0-3) and Conor Lanigan (Thurles Sarsfields 0-1).

Substitutes - Ronan Teehan (Gortnahoe-Glengoole 0-1) for Jason Ryan (half time), Pa Ryan (Newport) for Conor Lanigan (53 minutes), Mark McCarthy (Toomevara) for Andrew Coffey (58 minutes) and Tommy Nolan (Drom/Inch) for Billy McCarthy (60 minutes).

Waterford - Jordan Henley, William Hahessy, Conor Gleeson, Darragh Lyons, Michéal Harney, Austin Gleeson (0-5, 1 free), Conor Prunty, Mark O'Brien (0-1), Colm Roche (0-1), DJ Foran (0-1), Tom Devine (0-2), Mikey Kearney, Patrick Curran (0-8, 6 frees and 1 '65), Shane Bennett and Stephen Bennett (1-1).

Substitutes - Peter Hogan (1-0) for Colm Roche (43 minutes), Jack Fagan for Michéal Harney (57 minutes), Dermot Ryan for Darragh Lyons (60 minutes),Barry Whelan for William Hahessy (62 minutes) and Niall Fives for DJ Foran (62 minutes).

Referee - Johnny Murphy (Limerick).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.