02 Dec 2021

15 Tipp hurlers nominated for All Star Awards

Two players nominated for Hurler of the Year Award

15 Tipp hurlers nominated for All Star Awards

Fifteen Tipperary hurlers have been nominated for GAA/GPA Opel hurling All Star awards.

The fifteen all started last month's All-Ireland Final victory over Kilkenny.

And two Tipperary players, Seamus Callanan and Padraic Maher, are among the three players nominated for the Hurler of the Year award, alongside Waterford's Austin Gleeson.

Tipp's Ronan Maher, meanwhile, has been nominated for the Young Hurler of the Year award with the Waterford pair of Austin Gleeson and Shane Bennett.

The county's number of nominees is an increase on last year's list, which saw Tipp receive seven nominations, and betters their haul of 2010 when they previously won the All-Ireland crown and received 14 nominations.

The most All Stars that Tipp received was seven, which they collected on two occasions, in 1991 and 2001.

The huge haul of nominations is a reward for a year in which Tipp not only claimed the All-Ireland and Munster championships but also won all five championship matches against Cork, Limerick, Waterford, Galway and Kilkenny.

The players nominated are Darren Gleeson, Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Michael Cahill, Seamus Kennedy, Ronan Maher, Padraic Maher, Brendan Maher, Michael Breen, Dan McCormack, Patrick "Bonner" Maher, Noel McGrath, John "Bubbles" O'Dwyer, Seamus Callanan and John McGrath.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony in Dublin's Convention Centre on Friday November 4.

The full list of nominees is


Colm Callanan (Galway); Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Darren Gleeson (Tipperary).


Cian Dillon (Clare); Dáithí Burke, Pádraig Mannion (Galway); Cillian Buckley, Paul Murphy, Pádraig Walsh ( Kilkenny); Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick); Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Michael Cahill, Seamus Kennedy, Pádraic Maher, Ronan Maher (Tipperary); Noel Connors, Tadhg de Búrca, Shane Fives, Philip Mahony (Waterford); Matthew O'Hanlon (Wexford).


David Burke (Galway), Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny); Michael Breen, Brendan Maher (Tipperary); Jamie Barron, Kevin Moran (Waterford).


Colm Galvin, Tony Kelly (Clare), Alan Cadogan (Cork); Joe Canning, Conor Cooney (Galway); Richie Hogan, TJ Reid, Walter Walsh (Kilkenny); Seamus Callanan, Patrick Maher, Dan McCormack, John McGrath, Noel McGrath, John O'Dwyer (Tipperary); Austin Gleeson, Pauric Mahony, Michael Walsh (Waterford); Lee Chin (Wexford).  


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.