A landmark medieval hotel and pub in Cashel has ceased trading this week, leaving yet another major premises empty on the Main Street of the heritage town just weeks before Christmas.
Kearney’s Castle, also known as Grants, has been a favourite haunt of locals and disco goers over the years, but this week was closed down due to financial difficulties encountered by the owners.
According to the Cashel Folk Village, “Kearneys Castle is situated on the Main Street, Cashel, almost directly opposite Cashel Tourist Office and Heritage Centre. In its chequered past this 15th century castle was used as a garrison by the infamous Lord Inchiquin – Lord Inchiquin, whose real name was Murough O Brien, - who attacked the town in 1647 and slaughtered 3, 000 of its inhabitants on the grounds of the Rock. The Kearney family lived in the building for many years. Fr John Kearney was hanged in the castle in 1642. The building now operates as a hotel, and is open all year round.”
Subscribe or register today to discover more from DonegalLive.ie
Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.
Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.