New Tipperary electoral areas announced

editorial image
The long awaited new electoral boundaries for next summer’s local elections have been announced by the Department of the Environment and Local Government.

The long awaited new electoral boundaries for next summer’s local elections have been announced by the Department of the Environment and Local Government.

The changes will take effect from June 2014, when the next local elections are scheduled to take place. That election will also see the merger of South and North Tipperary County Councils in to one single County Council.

Seven councillors will go under the new plan - There are currently 21 county councillors in North Tipperary and 26 in the South. The new county council will have just 40 seats.

Recommendations were made based on population figures in the 2011 census, and a formula was worked out to allow one councillor per 3,969 people.

Carrick on Suir will have six councillors; the Cashel-Tipperary area will have seven councillors; Templemore-Thurles, Nenagh and Clonmel will have nine councillors in each area.

The following is a detailed description setting out the electoral divisions that comprise each recommended local electoral area:


Anner, Ardsallagh, Ballingarry, Ballyphilip, Ballysheehan, Carrick-on-Suir Rural, Carrick-onSuir Urban, Carrickbeg Urban, Cloneen, Colman, Cooleagh, Crohane, Drangan, Farranrory, Fethard, Garrangibbon, Graystown, Kilcash, Killenaule, Kilmurry, Kiltinan, Kilvemnon, Magorban, Modeshil, Mullinahone, New Birmingham, Newtown, Peppardstown, Poyntstown and Tullamain.


Ardfinnan, Ballybacon, Ballyclerahan, Ballyporeen, Burncourt, Caher, Clogheen, Clonmel East Urban, Clonmel Rural, Clonmel West Urban, Coolagarranroe, Derrygrath, Graigue, Inishlounaght, Kilcommon, Kilcoran, Killadriffe, Killaloan, Kilsheelan, Knockgraffon, Lisronagh, Mortlestown, Newcastle, Tubbrid, Tullaghmelan and Tullaghorton.


Abington, Aglishcloghane, Ardcrony, Ballina, Ballingarry, Ballygibbon, Ballylusky, Ballymackey, Ballynaclogh, Birdhill, Borrisokane, Burgesbeg, Carrig, Carrigatogher, Castletown, Cloghjordan, Cloghprior, Clohaskin, Derrycastle, Dolla, Finnoe, Foilnaman, Graigue, Greenhall, Kilbarron, Kilcomenty, Kilkeary, Killoscully, Kilmore, Kilnaneave, Kilnarath, Knigh, Lackagh, Latteragh, Lorrha East, Lorrha West, Mertonhall, Monsea, Nenagh East Urban, Nenagh Rural, Nenagh West Urban, Newport, Rathcabban, Redwood, Riverstown, Templederry, Terryglass, Uskane and Youghalarra.


Aghnameadle, Ballycahill, Ballymurreen, Borrisnafarney, Borrisnoe, Borrisoleigh, Bourney East, Bourney West, Buolick, Clogher, Drom, Fennor, Gaile, Glenkeen, Gortkelly, Holycross, Inch, Kilcooly, Killavinoge, Killea, Kilrush, Littleton, Longfordpass, Loughmore, Moyaliff, Moycarky, Moyne, Rahelty, Rathnaveoge, Roscrea, Templemore, Templetouhy, Thurles Rural, Thurles Urban, Timoney, Two-Mile-Borris and Upperchurch.


Ardmayle, Ballycarron, Ballygriffin, Ballykisteen, Bansha, Bruis, Cappagh, Cashel Rural, Cashel Urban, Clonbeg, Clonoulty East, Clonoulty West, Cullen, Curraheen, Donohill, Drumwood, Emly, Glengar, Golden, Kilfeakle, Killeenasteena, Kilmucklin, Kilpatrick, Lattin, Nodstown, Oughterleague, Rathlynin, Rodus, Shronell, Solloghodbeg, Templeneiry, Thomastown, Tipperary East Urban, Tipperary Rural and Tipperary West Urban.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.