Search our Archive

Tipperary trainers Mouse Morris and Aidan O'Brien scoop top racing awards

Tipperary trainers Mouse Morris and Aidan O'Brien scoop top racing awards

Mouse Morris accepts his award from HRI chairman Joe Keeling.

Two Tipperary-based trainers were among the award winners at the Horse Racing Ireland Awards at Leopardstown Racecourse today.

Ballydoyle trainer Aidan O’Brien was announced as the winner of the Flat Award and was also honoured for his handling of leading three-year-old filly Minding, the winner of the Horse of the Year Award.

Fethard-based Mouse Morris picked up the Outstanding Achievement Award, the only award open to public vote.

Guest of honour at the ceremony was Minister of Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Michael Creed TD and guests were welcomed by Chairman of HRI, Joe Keeling.

Aidan O'Brien accepts his award from Joe Keeling.

The winners at the 14th annual awards ceremony were as follows:

• Horse of the Year Award: Minding

• Flat Award: Aidan O’Brien

• National Hunt Award: Willie Mullins

• Contribution to the Industry Award: Mrs Maureen Mullins

• Outstanding Achievement Award: Mouse Morris

• Point-To-Point Award: Jamie Codd

• Racecourse of the Year Award: Galway Racecourse



Aidan O’Brien won the Flat Award after a truly remarkable year where he enjoyed 22 Group or Grade 1 wins worldwide along with a 1-2-3 in both the Newmarket 1,000 Guineas and the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe. Champion Trainer in Ireland once again with 117 victories, he was also Champion Trainer in Britain with 13 Group 1 victories alone.

 MV Magnier accepts the trophy for Horse of the Year, 'Minding', from Joe Keeling,

with trainer Aidan O'Brien.

Horse of the Year, Minding, owned by Derrick Smith, Mrs John Magnier and Michael Tabor, won five of the seven Group 1 races she contested this year. She was successful in the 1,000 Guineas at Newmarket in May and the Epsom Oaks before taking the Pretty Polly Stakes at the Curragh, the Nassau Stakes at Goodwood and the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes at Ascot in October.


Mouse Morris won the Outstanding Achievement Award, which was decided by both the Irish racing media and racing fans. He was nominated for the award after he remarkably saddled the winner of both the Irish Grand National and the Aintree Grand National in the same season – something that has not been done since the 1880s. Rogue Angel and Ger Fox won the BoyleSports Irish Grand National thriller, while just 12 days later, Rule The World and David Mullins stormed to victory in the Crabbie’s Grand National.


Joe Keeling, Chairman of HRI commented: “The Horse Racing Ireland Awards allow us to shine the spotlight on the amazing achievements in Irish racing throughout the year. As always, the standard of nominations was extremely high and I would like to congratulate the very worthy winners and wish everyone in the Irish racing industry continued success in 2017.”


The award winners received bronze trophies, created by sculptor Siobhan Bulfin.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.