Tommy Dunne names Tipperary minor hurling panel ahead of opening clash with Limerick

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


Tommy Dunne names Tipperary minor hurling panel ahead of opening clash with Limerick

The 2018 Tipperary minor hurling management team pictured from left: manager Tommy Dunne (Toomevara) with selectors Paul Collins (Drom & Inch), Ger Ryan (Cappawhite) and Tony Shelly (Killenaule).

The Tipperary minor hurling panel will launch their Munster championship campaign at Páirc na nGael, Limerick on Sunday, May 20th (throw-in 12 noon) when Tommy Dunne's men take on the Shannonsiders in the opening round of the revamped under-17 provincial competition.

Manager Tommy Dunne (Toomevara) is joined on the management team by selectors Paul Collins (Drom & Inch), Ger Ryan (Cappawhite) and Tony Shelly (Killenaule). Alan O'Connor (Cahir) plays a key role in the set-up as the strength and conditioning coach while Thomas Hassett (Toomevara) is the kit man.

And, Tommy Dunne has named the following panel of players for the up-coming campaign: Aaron Browne (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), Enda Dunphy (St Mary's Clonmel), Johnny Ryan (Arravale Rovers, captain), Conor Whelan (Mullinahone), Kevin Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris), Seán Phelan (Nenagh Éire Óg), Ryan Renehan (Cappawhite), Fintan Purcell (Drom & Inch), David Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill), Paudie O’Loughlin (Newcastle), Frank Hanafin (Holycross-Ballycahill), Billy O’Connor (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Philip Gantley (Cappawhite), Kieran Larkin (Moyne-Templetuohy), Conor O’Dwyer (Cashel King Cormacs), Kevin Maher (Borris-Ileigh), Oisín Larkin (Borrisokane), Jack Morrissey (Moycarkey-Borris), John Campion (Drom & Inch), Rory O’Donovan (Nenagh Éire Óg), Cian O’Farrell (Nenagh Éire Óg), Kian O’Kelly (Kilruane MacDonagh’s), Seán Hayes (Kiladangan), James Devanney (Borris-Ileigh), Devon Ryan (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), Max Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris), Mikey O’Shea (Mullinahone), Eoin Purcell (Thurles Sarsfields), Aidan O’Heney (Emly), James Synnott (Roscrea), Jack Lanigan (Thurles Sarsfields), Keith Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane) and Darren Flood (Moycarkey-Borris).

The starting team to face Limerick on Sunday, May 20th will be named on Friday night, May 18th.

Subsequent to the contest with the Shannonsiders the minor hurlers will feature as curtain-raisers for the Tipperary senior hurlers on May 27th at Semple Stadium, Thurles (12 noon) against Cork, on June 3rd at Páirc na nGael, Limerick (2pm) against Waterford and on June 10th at Semple Stadium, Thurles (12 noon) against Clare.

The Munster Minor Hurling Championship final is scheduled to take place on Sunday, July 1st (12 noon).

Liam Cahill signed off on his four-year term as Tipperary minor hurling manager at Páirc Uí Rinn, Cork in 2017 when his determined side lost out narrowly in a thrilling Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship clash with the Premier County’s age-old rivals (2-19 to 2-22). Tipperary drew with Cork (2-18 to 1-21) after extra-time in Semple Stadium, Thurles on Thursday, June 29th before losing out to the Rebels in a replay on Monday, July 3rd.

The replay defeat suffered at the hands of Cork brought the tenure of manager Liam Cahill to a natural end - in his four years in charge the Ballingarry man guided the Tipperary minor hurling team to two provincial crowns (2015 & 2016) and an All-Ireland title (2016). Indeed, Cahill’s time at the helm included sixteen championship games in total, featuring ten wins, one draw and five defeats.


The Limerick minor team is managed by Antoin Power alongside selectors Alan Browne, John Meskell, Paul Dowling and Seán Óg Herbert.

The Limerick minor hurling panel reads as follows: Michael Keane (Adare), Pádraig Harnett (Ahane), Andrew Shanahan (Ahane), Patrick Byrne (Ballybricken-Bohermore), Micheal Martin (Ballybricken-Bohermore), Barry O'Connor (Ballybrown), Conor O'Neill (Ballybrown), Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown), Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock), Danny O'Leary (Bruff), Ben Herlihy (Castletown-Ballyagran), David Riordan (Castletown-Ballyagran), Dean Kennedy (Claughaun), Cian Casey (Claughaun), James Conheady (Crecora-Manister), Cathal O'Neill (Crecora-Manister), Bob Purcell (Doon), Cormac Ryan (Doon), Frankie Herr (Effin), Eoin O'Mahony (Garryspillane), Bryan Heavey (Garryspillane), Gearóid Lynch (Granagh-Ballingarry), KIllian Reale (Hospital-Herbertstown), James Mason (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Brian Daly (Kilmallock), Séamus Hurley (Mungret-St Paul's), Jack Nicholas (Murroe-Boher), David Hickey (Murroe-Boher), Emmet McEvoy (Na Piarsaigh), Bryan Nix (Newcastlewest), Kyran O'Donnell (Pallasgreen), Cian Enright (Patrickswell), Patrick Kirby (Patrickswell) and Diarmuid Hegarty (St Patrick's).


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.