Four Tipperary footballers receive All Star nominations

Noel Dundon


Noel Dundon


Conor Sweeney

Captain Conor Sweeney has been nominated for an All Star award

Conor Sweeney, Bill Maher, Colin O'Riordan and Kevin Fahy have been nominated.

Tipperary senior footballers have received four nominations for All Star awards following a tremendous season which yielded the Munster senior football title.

Tipperary’s memorable march to a first Munster senior football title since 1935 is reflected in four nominations for defenders Kevin Fahy and Bill Maher; with Colin O’Riordan among the midfield contenders and captain Conor Sweeney named among the forward contenders. Their last PwC All-Star in football was Michael Quinlivan in 2016.

Players from 10 different counties are represented in the final list of football nominations that make up the PwC All-Stars announced today.
The history-making, six-in-a-row All-Ireland champions Dublin head up the high-calibre 45-
strong shortlist with 13 men throughout every area of the pitch.
Beaten finalists Mayo are next with 12 contenders for the final 15.

After winning a first Ulster title since 1997, Cavan have been rewarded with seven nominations.
The Breffni County’s previous winners are Ollie Brady (1978) and Dermot McCabe (1997).

Iain Corbett’s eye-catching exploits for Limerick in their league and championship displays in
2020 is honoured with an inclusion among the 18 top defenders – a nomination for the Treaty
footballers for the first time since John Galvin in 2010.

There are three nominations for Ulster finalists Donegal, two for Galway and with Armagh’s
Aidan Forker, Cork midfielder Ian Maguire and Kerry attacker David Clifford also included.
Also announced today are the players who have been shortlisted for the PwC GAA/GPA
Footballer of the Year Awards.

Dublin’s Brian Fenton (Raheny) and Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock) are joined by Mayo forward
Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber) in the shortlist for the PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year
Award – which will be chosen by their peers.

The vote for the PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year Award will be an all-Mayo affair
with emerging stars Oisín Mullin (Kilmaine), Eoghan McLaughlin (Westport) and Tommy Conroy
(the Neale) shortlisted.

Congratulating the nominees, Uachtarán CLG John Horan said: “I want to acknowledge all of
those who have been chosen among this list of nominees for the PwC All-Stars. The 2020
season will go down in history for the backdrop against which it was played, and all of our
players deserve great credit for producing the levels of skill and enjoyment we witnessed. Our
thanks to PwC for helping ensure those heroics are recognised here.”

Feargal O’Rourke, Managing Partner, PwC, said: “Sincere congratulations to all of the 45
players named as nominees for the PwC All Stars on behalf of everyone at PwC. It is a
tremendous achievement to make the 45-strong shortlist and it is a testament to these players’
abilities, both individually and as part of a team, that they were selected. Despite all the
obvious difficulties and obstacles, the 2020 Championship was packed with entertainment,
brilliant games and outstanding individual performances and the nominees all played their part
in this tremendous spectacle. Their nominations are all well-deserved and we wish them all
every success in the new season ahead.”

Paul Flynn, Chief Executive of the GPA said: “Warmest congratulations to all 45 footballers
who have been nominated for PwC All-Star Awards for 2020, a year that none of us will ever
forget.  While our games are all about the team, individual recognition through the PwC All-
Stars, which are the pinnacle in individual achievement in Gaelic football, is a huge honour. 
Congratulations also to the nominees for both the PwC Footballer of the Year and the PwC
Young Footballer of the Year.”

The nominations were chosen by a panel of Gaelic Games correspondents from across, print,
radio, TV and digital media, chaired by Uachtarán CLG John Horan.
The PwC All-Star nominations in hurling will be released tomorrow. It is intended that the
presentation of the PwC All-Star awards will take place late next month in a TV show that will
be in line with Covid-19 restrictions and will be confirmed in due course.

PwC All-Stars Football nominations 2020
David Clarke (Mayo), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Raymond Galligan (Cavan)
Davey Byrne, Michael Fitzsimons, Eoin Murchan, John Small, Robbie McDaid (all Dublin)
Oisín Mullin, Eoghan McLaughlin, Lee Keegan, Chris Barrett, Patrick Durcan (all Mayo)
Ciarán Brady, Padraig Faulkner, Gerry Smith (all Cavan),
Kevin Fahy, Bill Maher (Tipperary)
Iain Corbett (Limerick), Aidan Forker (Armagh), Peadar Mogan (Donegal).
James McCarthy (Dublin), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Colin O’Riordan (Tipperary), Gearóid
McKiernan (Cavan), Matthew Ruane (Mayo), Ian Maguire (Cork)
Niall Scully, Con O’Callaghan, Ciarán Kilkenny, Dean Rock, Seán Bugler (all Dublin)
Cillian O’Connor, Kevin McLoughlin, Ryan O’Donoghue, Aidan O’Shea, Tommy Conroy (all Mayo)
Martin Reilly, Thomas Galligan (Cavan)
Shane Walsh, Paul Conroy (Galway)
Michael Langan, Ciarán Thompson (Donegal)
Conor Sweeney (Tipperary), David Clifford (Kerry)
PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year nominees
Oisín Mullin, Tommy Conroy, Eoghan McLaughlin (all Mayo)
PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year nominees
Brian Fenton (Dublin), Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin), Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)