Tipp hurling stars receive awards in Carrick-on-Suir

Fourth annual Maurice Davin GAA Awards took place in the Carraig Hotel last week.

Tipp minor hurler Michael Whelan received a Young Player of the Year award

Former GAA President Nickey Brennan presented awards to Tipperary, Waterford, Kilkenny and local club GAA stars of the past and present at the fourth annual Maurice Davins GAA awards in Carrick-on-Suir last week. 

The awards ceremony took place in the Carraig Hotel on Tuesday, December 27 and was attended by more than 200 people. Senior officials from the GAA county boards of Tipperary, Kilkenny and Waterford were among the guests.

The Maurice Davins Award committee honoured Tipperary senior hurling ace forward John McGrath, who was part of last September's All-Ireland winning team,  and former Tipperary senior hurling centre back Conor O'Mahony, who retired from inter-county hurling in 2015.  He won an All-Ireland senior hurling medal with the 2010 Tipperary team. 

Young Players of the Year awards were presented to Michael Whelan of Carrick Davins GAA Club and Mark Keogh of Kilsheelan/Kilcash GAA Club, who played on the All-Ireland winning Tipperary Minor hurling team.

To find out who the rest of the award winners were, including those from local GAA clubs,  read The Nationalist in shops now. 

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.