29 Sept 2022

Fianna Fáil councillor Mattie Ryan elected Nenagh MDC chair

Mattie Ryan

Fianna Fáil councillor Mattie Ryan elected Nenagh MDC chair

Veteran Fianna Fáil councillor Mattie Ryan “Coole ” was elected chair of Nenagh District Council this Thursday morning. Cllr Ryan from Kilcommon becomes the final chair before next May’s local election and replaced fellow Fianna Fáil councillor John Carroll. 

Cllr Ryan is understood to be seeking to be elected Cathaoirleach of Tipperary County Council at next Monday’s AGM. He served in that position in 1996/97. 

Cllr Ryan was first elected in 1991. He was proposed by Cllr Carroll and seconded by Cllr Fiona Bonfield. 

Cllr Hughie McGrath was elected as deputy chair of Nenagh MDC. He was proposed by Cllr Seamus Morris and seconded by Cllr Ger Darcy. Both were wished well for for coming year. Tributes were also paid to outgoing chair Cllr John Carroll. 

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.