Search our Archive


Fourteen Tipperary players included in Munster hurling and football panels

Fourteen Tipperary players included in Munster hurling and football panels

Tipperary goalie Evan Comerford is on the Munster football panel for this weekend's inter-provincial series at Parnell Park in Dublin.

Fourteen Tipperary players are included on the Munster hurling and football panels for this weekend's inter-provincial series.

Michael Quinlivan and Conor Sweeney, who have only recently returned from the All Stars tour to Abu Dhabi and Dubai, will complete an eventful year with their selection for Munster's football semi-final against Ulster at Parnell Park on Saturday December 10th (4pm).

They will be joined by fellow county players Alan Campbell, Evan Comerford and Brian Fox, who also starred in Tipp's historic run to this year's All-Ireland Senior Football Championship semi-final.

The other provincial semi-final between Leinster and holders Connacht will be played at 6pm as part of a double header at Parnell Park on Saturday, with the final being played there on Sunday at 2pm.  

There are nine Tipp players in the hurling panel, which reflects the county's success in the Munster and All-Ireland Senior Championships.

They are James Barry, Michael Breen, Seamus Callanan, Darren Gleeson, Brendan Maher (captain), Padraic Maher, Dan McCormack, Noel McGrath and John O’Dwyer.

Munster will meet Ulster at 1pm and reigning champions Leinster will face Connacht at 2.45 in a double bill at MacDonagh Park, Nenagh on Saturday, with the following day’s final fixed for Semple Stadium at 2pm.

There's also Tipperary involvement in the management teams of both panels - Declan Browne is a selector with the footballers, whose manager is Cork's Ger O’Sullivan while Kerry's Dave Geaney is the other selector; while Tommy Dunne is a selector with the hurlers, who are managed by Clare's Anthony Daly. 

The other selector is Waterford's John Mullane.

Outside of Tipperary players the hurling panel also includes Cian Dillon, David Reidy and Aaron Shanagher (Clare), Anthony Nash (Cork), Tom Murnane (Kerry), Diarmuid Byrnes, Tom Condon, Shane Dowling, Cian Lynch and Barry Nash (Limerick), Jamie Barron, Shane Bennett, Stephen Bennett, Noel Connors, Barry Coughlan, Shane Fives, Austin Gleeson and Pauric Mahony (Waterford). 

As well as its Tipperary contingent the football panel also includes Gary Brennan, Eoin Cleary, Kevin Hartnett, Jamie Malone, Keelan Sexton and David Tubridy (Clare), Tom Clancy, Ruairi Deane, Conor Dorman, Colm O’Driscoll and Kevin O’Driscoll (Cork), Aidan O’Mahony and Tommy Walsh (Kerry), Iain Corbett and Darragh Treacy (Limerick), Patrick Hurney, Tomás O’Gorman and Paul Whyte (Waterford).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.