62 points over 27 holes - some shooting!

Eamonn Mulcahy wins President's Prize in Tipperary

Vincent Gilligan's President's Prize

Eamonn Mulcahy wins President's Prize in Tipperary

Eamonn Mulcahy accepts his President's Prize from Vincent Gilligan, President, Tipperary Golf Club following his win on Saturday last.

Congratulations to Eamon Mulcahy on a great win in the President's Prize (Vincent Gilligan), at Tipperary Golf Club on Saturday last scoring an excellent 62 points in the process.

In the morning we were treated by the Ladies Committee to a beautiful Coffee Morning.

At the risk of repeating myself, the effort you put into these events is really appreciated and shows us all the true spirit of Tipperary Golf Club, thanks again from all in the Men's Club.

Next up was the golf itself. We had an entry of just a couple shy of 200 players which was whittled down to the best 27 for our 9 hole playoff. The course was again in perfect condition with good shots being rewarded while anything slightly wayward was up to the mercy of the golfing gods. Eamonn shot a great 23 pts in the final nine to blitz the field and secure his win by a 3 point margin. Liam Duffy & Co served up a delicious buffet meal after the golf to keep us all content.

Club President Vincent Gilligan led a very special 5-man Barbershop Quartet at the clubhouse festivities on Saturday night last.

After all ceremonies and prize-givings, we treated to a display of Irish Dancing, a very special 5-man Barber Quartet and a number of other singers to get the party going.

Congratulations to all participants, prize winners and to President Vincent and family on a very successful and enjoyable weekend.


President's Prize 2018 - Mr Vincent Gilligan

Winner: Eamonn Mulcahy (16) 62 pts;

Runner Up: Shane Moloney (16) 59 pts;

3rd: James Ryan (5) 58.5 pts;

Gross: Steven Murray 38 pts Gross;

4th: Philip Ryan (9) 57.5 pts.

Category 1 (0-9): Pat Merrigan (09) 56.5 pts.

Category 2 (10-15): Eamonn Mullane (15) 56.5 pts.

Category 3 (16+): Fintan Leahy (17) 56.5 pts.

Best 18 Hole Qualifier: Liam Armshaw (18) 41 pts.

Best Final 9: Jim McGlynn (9) 18.5 pts.

Past President: Joe B Ryan.

Seniors Prize: John Dwyer (17) 52.5 pts.

Junior/Student: Paddy Kennedy (Jnr) (10) 35 pts.