South Tipperary Minor 'A' Hurling Championship Semi-Final

Moyle Rovers win pulsating hurling semi-final with Carrick Swans

Moyle Rovers to face Skeheenarinka/Clonmel Og combo in Sunday's Final

Moyle Rovers win pulsating hurling semi-final with Carrick Swans

Referee Paddy Russell looks on as Moyle Rovers' Sean Cotter and Cory Ryan of Carrick Swans send ash flying durin Sunday's South Minor 'A' Hurling final played in Clonmel Sportsfield.

South Tipperary Minor ‘A’ Hurling Semi-Final


This Minor Hurling A Semi Finalat Clonmel on Sunday last   produced some great passages of hurling between raining South Champions Moyle Rovers and  Carrick Swans in a very high scoring encounter.

Both sides gave it their all with Carrick Swans flying from the throw in scoring 0-2 from Christy Griffin and Noel Obilor before Moyle Rovers got going with a free and a point from Peter McGarry. The same player brought the sides level with a point from a free in the fifth minute.

 Swans Jamie Holloway was next to score, a point from play, and Cian Robinson put them two up with a well taken free from the puck out.

 Kieran Quirke scored a point for Moyle Rovers  with the Swans firing on all cylinders scored the next two points the first from play by Ian Holloway and the second from a free by Cian Robinson however before the end of the first quarter Moyle Rovers had worked two points from play by the excellent Rian Quigley both from difficult angles to leave the sides Carrick Swans 0-6, Moyle Rovers 0-5.

It was a very evenly contest at this stage with Swans scoring two points from Jack Connolly and Nigel O’Keeffe.

 It was at this stage Moyle Rovers stormed into the game with some lovely hurling skills and scores notching up 1-8 to 0-3 response during the second quarter with the goal coming from Rian Quigley.

Quigley also  added 0-4 (two from frees) and with Peter McGarry on fire in the other corner adding 0-4 from play. The three Carrick Swans points in replay came  from Jamie and Ian Holloway and the third from a free by Cian Robinson.

At the break Carrick Swans would have to address the full back line as the Moyle Rovers forwards were running riot leaving the half time score Moyle Rovers 1-13 Carrick Swans 0-11 with both teams hitting five wides each during the opening half.

On the resumption Swans were first to score, a point from Cian Robinson. Moyle Rovers the proceeded to dominate the next five minutes scoring 1-3 with the goal a peach of a score by Rian Quigley. The same player also scored a point from play with Peter McGarry  and Ben Owens scoring a point apiece.

 Swans drove on a got two points from play via Ian Holloway and Cian Robinson with Moyle Rovers replying with a point from a free by Anthony Phelan.

In the 45th minute Noel Obilor scored a good point from play to leave the score Moyle Rovers 2-17 Carrick Swans 0-15 as we entered the final quarter 

Moyle Rovers went two  more clear with points from  Rian Quigley and Kieran Quirke, both from frees before  Swans pulled two back with   both points from frees by Cian Robinson.

In the  58th minute the Swans got a life line when Jack Murphy scored a goal only to be knocked back from the puck out when Peter McGarry raised a green flag for Rovers.

In injury time we had another  little twist when Cian Robinson got his hurley first to a ball of the crossbar and with the final puck of the game Anthony Phelan scored a point for Moyle Rovers to leave the final score after a pulsating last five minutes Moyle Rovers 3-20 Carrick Swans 2-17.

Rovers now advance  to try and  retain their crown againsy Skeenarinky/ Clonmel Og combination next Sunday  with both finals in Cahir .

Best for Moyle Rovers were Rian Quigley, Peter McGarry, Anthony Phelan, Ben Owens, for a gallant Carrick Swans Jamie and Ian Holloway, Jack Murphy, Noel Obilor, Jack Connolly and Cian Robinson gave of their best.


Brian Quirke, Mike McGrath, Jack Holohan, Brian O’Sullivan, Callum Meagher, Ben Owens 0-1, Rory Collins, Brian McKeown, Anthony Phelan 0-2 (1 free), Sean Cotter, Sean Hackett, Adam Maher, Rian Quigley 2-8 (3F), Kieran Quirke 0-1, Peter McGarry 1-8 (2F).

Subs: Rian O’Halloran for Sean Hackett, Brian O Dea for Sean Cotter.


Ben O’Shea, Aaron O’Sullivan, Luke McNamara, Ben Mulcaire, Nigel O Keeffe, Jack Murphy 1-0, Jamie Holloway 0-3, Ian Holloway 0-2, Noel Obilor 0-2, Christy Griffin 0-1, Cory Ryan, Cian Robinson 1-6(4F), Jack Connolly 0-1.

Subs: Lee Keane, Erin Walsh.

Referee Paddy Russell (Emly).