Tipperary hurling and football champions at Under 12 - Mullinahone to remember special group 25 years later

Mullinahone Under 14 Hurlers

A Mullinahone under 14 team from around the same time.


It is now 25 years since the Mullinahone U12s won the Tipperary U12A Football and Hurling double. 

In 1994 they first won the U12A Football title defeating Bansha in the county final in Cashel.  About two months later they went on to win the U12A hurling title beating Toomevara in the final in Holycross.

These lads were the first rural club ever to pull off this double. This feat will never be pulled off again as county championships at U12 level are no longer played for.

A group of the lads who played with those teams are hoping to get as many as possible of the lads together again before the Summer/ Autumn is over. 

The Committee is made up of the two team captains Martin Costello and Eoin Kelly as well as Richard Fitzgibbon, Edwin O’Meara and Micheál Cahill. 

The other 27 lads on the panels were:  Davy Williams, Paul Cummins, Neil O’Brien, Kieran Foxe, Conor O’Brien, Vincent Doheny, Aidrian Maher, Philip O’Shea, Jonathan Croke, Aidan Hall, P.J. Walsh, Davy Vaughan, Danny Morrissey, James Comerford, John Luttrell, Liam Dalton, David Morrissey, Brendan Ryan, Joseph Lonergan, Mark Williams, Brian Egan, Joey Maher, Joseph Treacy, Martin O’Riordan, Tony O’Egan, Niall McCann and Geoffrey O’Connell.

In the Tipperary GAA Yearbook later that year the lads were recalled as the “Wunder Kinder of Mullinahone”, a title well deserved.  We hope to meet as many of them as possible in the near future.