02 Dec 2021

Kelsey Crowe steals the show at Tipp's Got Talent finale

Tipp's Got Talent 2018

Paudie Byrne of Tipp Town Plaza with the prizewinners L-R: Abbie O Dwyer and Sara Cuss, Kelsey Crowe and Leonie Keating

Saturday night saw the Grand Final of Tipp’s Got Talent take place in Tipperary Excel in front of a packed theatre. The competition was run by Tipperary Musical Society in conjunction with Tipperary Excel, and is now in its fifth year. With a total prize fund of €1000, sixteen acts performed a mixture of song, dance and instrumentals and showcased the local talent that Tipperary has to offer.

Last year’s winner, singer-songwriter Eilish Hassett, returned to entertain the audience with three of her own songs. Mayhem ensued as Pat Ryan of Tipperary Pantomime Society broke onto the stage, determined to secure the top prize of €700 for himself! The audience erupted with laughter as “security” were forced to chase him around the auditorium!

Judges Miriam Ball, Brigid Whelan, Michael Ryan, Mairead Breen and Guest Judge, Pride of Tipperary Megan Morrissey, had the onerous task of deciding the winner. Jim Keane as MC did a wonderful job all night, with his final task being to announce the results.

Pic: Judges with Abbie O Dwyer and Sara Cuss

In third place were Sara Cuss and Abbie O Dwyer, an Irish Dancing duo who added their own flair with some modern choreography. Second prize went to Leonie Keating who showcased her voice beautifully with ‘Lilac Wine’ by Jeff Buckley. Kelsey Crowe took first place and the overall prize of €700 for her powerful rendition of Sam Smith’s ‘Writing’s on the Wall’ which she performed again as an encore.

Pic: Judges Miriam Ball, Mairead Breen, Michael Ryan, Megan Morrissey and Brigid Whelan with Leonie Keating

As the main sponsor of the event, Paudie Byrne of Tipp Town Plaza was on hand to present the prizes, which in addition to the prize money also included vouchers for second and third place.

We would like to extend our gratitude to Tipp Town Plaza for being onboard again with us this year and supporting the local community so generously. We would also like to thank our media partners Tipperary Mid West Radio and Trophy Sponsors Joe Whelan’s Giftware Specialists.

Pic: Paudie Byrne presenting the cheque to overall winner Kelsey Crowe

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.