Glory glory Rockwell College in Tipperary football championship

Glory glory Rockwell College in Tipperary football championship

County Post-Primary Schools under 14 ‘A’ football champions Rockwell College.

Celebrations are continuing in Rockwell College this week following victory in the County Post-Primary Schools under 14 ‘A’ Football Championship on home soil.

Rockwell grinded out a win over a much fancied Clonmel High School 2-3 to 1-4 in the opening contest.

Tipperary Town’s Abbey School then beat Rockwell 3-6 to 3-4, but despite the setback Rockwell booked their place in the final alongside Clonmel High School as both teams emerged top of the group.

After a ding dong first half in the final, Rockwell went in at half time one point ahead of High School. They saw out victory in the second half, with goals proving crucial. Final score: Rockwell 4-4 to High School 2-4.

Rockwell panel: L. Cummins, Casey Coleman (3-3), R. Collins (captain, 3-5), E. Dunphy, T. Downey, C. Hogan, T. Ross, S. Neville, P. McGarry (1-3), J. Fogarty, B. Gleeson, J. Kennedy, R. Wall (1-0), D. Clarke, B. Farrelly, J. Cronin, J. F. Davis (1-0).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.