Tipperary Soccer League Division 3

Kilmanahan crowned Division 3 champions in Tipp soccer league

Seamie Greene's penalty wraps up the title

Kilmanahan crowned Division 3 champions in Tipp soccer league

The Kilmanahan team who were crowned TSDL Division 3 champions for 2018 when they defeated Moyglass United by 2-1 on Sunday last.



Kilmanahan sealed the Third Division title after a hard fought game on Sunday against a doggedly impressive Moyglass side determined to keep the title race alive for at least one more week.

Both sides had chances early on but it was the visitors who eventually opened the scoring when Dylan Lawlor fired home an effort from ten yards out in the twenty fifth minute to stun the home side.

Seamie Greene (on left) whose penalty wrapped up the Division 3 title for Kilmanahan on Sunday last. Also in this picture from an game earlier in the season with Killusty United are James O'Donnell (Kilmanahan) and Jamie McCormack (Killusty).

And they kept that lead to the break as Kilmanahan tried unsuccessfully to peg them back. Eventually though pressure from the home side told and ten minutes into the second period Derek McGrath scored to level proceedings.

But the home side were not going to be content with a point and fifteen minutes from the end Darren Guiry was through on goal before being dragged to the ground, earning his side a penalty kick. This was duly despatched to the net by Seamie Greene and that goal assured his side of all three points and a title winning performance was finally delivered. 

The quickest hat-trick in TSDL Premier League history