Bord Gáis Energy Munster Under 21 Hurling Championship Final

Tipp under 21 team unchanged for Wednesday's Munster final with Cork

Tipp hoping for first final win since 2010

Jeddy Walsh


Jeddy Walsh


Tipp under 21 team unchanged for Wednesday's Munster final with Cork

Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan/Kilcash) who had a storming game in the semi-final against Limerick will be hoping to do likewise in the final against Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Wednesday evening.

Following on from the minors provincial final win over Limerick at Thurles on Sunday last, Tipperary’s attention now turns to this Wednesday night when our under 21s travel to the revamped Páirc Uí Chaoimh to take on Cork in a keenly anticipated Bord Gáis Energy Munster final.

The fortunes of the Leesiders are on the up again with the seniors putting back- to-back provincial titles together in Thurles on Sunday last with a win over Clare.

‘The Under 21 Rebels’ have quite a few of that senior squad at their disposal for tonight’s encounter including Darragh Fitzgibbon, Shane Kingston and Robbie O’Flynn. The likes of Tim O’Mahony, David Griffin and Jack O’Connor were amongst the subs listed for Sunday’s senior final against Clare. So all in all it will be a hugechallenge for Tipp againstCork especially in front of their own support.  

Again at Páirc Uí Chaoimh in their semi-final against a good Waterford outfit the Leesiders impressed winning by 0-23 to 1-17 and doing it the hard way when coming from five down after half-time..

Tipperary on the other hand travel south as outsiders - Cork 8/13 Tipp 13/8 - but they too will welcome the opportunity of showing what they are capable of.

In their semi-final against Limerick in Thurles, Tipperary cruised to victory by 1-22 to 1-13 against the reigning All-Ireland champions, a polished display that had Tipperary home and hosed well before Limerick got a consolation goal at the death.

Liam Cahill will be hoping his side can deliver a provincial title  that has eluded Tipperary since 2010, incidentally the last time we won the All-Ireland under the captaincy of Padraic Maher. Beaten in three provincial deciders since Tipp will need to be at their best to change that. This year, win or lose, they will have another day out, a new departure at this grade.


The Tipperary team to play Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh this evening (Wednesday) has been selected and will line out as follows;

  1. Ciarán Barrett - Clonmel Óg

  2. Podge Campion - Drom-Inch

  3. Brian McGrath - Loughmore-Castleiney

  4. Killian O'Dwyer - Killenaule

  5. Cian Flanagan - Newport

  6. Paddy Cadell - JK Brackens

  7. Dillon Quirke - Clonoulty-Rossmore

  8. Ger Browne - Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams

  9. Colin English (Captain) - Fr. Sheehy’s, Clogheen

10. Jerome Cahill - Kilruane MacDonaghs

11. Paudie Feehan - Killenaule

12. Mark Kehoe - Kilsheelan-Kilcash

13. David Gleeson - Ballinahinch

14. Jake Morris - Nenagh Éire Óg

15. Lyndon Fairbrother - JK Brackens


Barry Hogan - Kiladangan; Conor Stakelum - Thurles Sarsfields; Cian Darcy - Kilruane MacDonaghs; Darragh Woods - Holycross-Ballycahill; Robert Byrne - Portroe; Michael Purcell - Thurles Sarsfields; Craig Morgan - Kilruane MacDonaghs; Shane Neville - Lattin-Cullen; Ray McCormack - Borris-Ileigh.

Throw-in for tonight's game is 7.30 pm.