Cumann na mBunscol

Ardfinnan stun Clonoulty in surprise county final camogie win

Great roar greets win for South Tipp girls

Ardfinnan stun Clonoulty in surprise county final camogie win

The Ardfinnan National School team who recently won the Cumann na mBunscol county final at Semple Stadium, Thurles.

Cumann na mBunscol County Under 13E Camogie Final

Ardfinnan 8-5 Clonoulty 4-2

 Clonoulty, coming from the hurling stronghold were sure to be favourites compared to Ardfinnan who were coming from the football south and while Clonoulty attacked first the Ardfinnan goalie Rebekah Coughlan kept them at bay with a superb save for her side.

An over the shoulder point from Molly Purcell, one of many scores from her during this match, put Ardfinnan on the scoreboard and heap pressure on  Clonoulty .

Aoife Bourke and Rebecca Riordan would show their side's determination and lift Clonoulty spirits with a goal apiece in quick succession.

Ardfinnan spirits didn’t faulter however, Clodagh Bourke and Katie O’Connor scoring point after point for Ardfinnan to the dismay of the Clonoulty side. A Clodagh Bourke point just before the half time whistle gave Ardfinnan the lead but only just. It was still all the play for. Clonoulty would return refreshed going into the second half and heap the pressure onto Ardfinnan.

The lethal combination of Aoife Bourke, supported by Emma Ely would strike time and again for Clonoulty. Ardfinnan would respond in the shape of Isabelle Cuddihy, Clodagh Bourke and Molly Purcell, each managing to rattled the Clonoulty net for their side. The Clonoulty points seemed unstoppable but Ardfinnan goals would win the day. As the final whistle blew it would be an Ardfinnan victory  to the roars of their supporters.

Ardfinnan N.S.  1. Rebekah Coughlan, 2. Éabha Lambert, 3. Ellie McNamara, 4. Katie O’Connor, 5. Molly Purcell, 6. Isabelle Cuddihy, 7. Clodagh Bourke, 8. Kaylagh Condon, 9. Molly O’Neill, 10. Kayleigh O’Leary, 11. Sadbh Carrigan, 12. Siobhán O’Mahoney, 13. Rachel Shine.

Principal: Mairead Condon. 

Coaches: Niamh Molumphy, Liam O’Sullivan & Gráinne Bourke.

Clonoulty National School 2. Andrea Quirke, 3. Aoife Bourke, 4. Sophie Maher, 5. Rebecca Riordan, 6. Clodagh Ryan, 7. Emma Ely, 8. Lyla Murphy, 9. Aoife O Donoghue, 10. Niamh Brennan, 11. Robyn O Donnell, 12. Carmen De La Pverda Doyngcz.

Principal: Tom O Brien.

Teacher/coach Cora Hennessy.