Powerstown Boys capture county crown with win over Golden

Powerstown Boys capture county crown with win over Golden

Powerstown National School (Clonmel) were crowned Cumann na mBunscol county champions at under 13 C grade following their win over Golden NS in the final at Semple Stadium, Thurles.

Cumann na mBunscol County Tipperary U13 C Hurling Final

Powerstown 5-5 Golden 0-6

Jake Forristal took to the field quickly for Powerstown, rocketed past the Golden defence and rattled the back of the net to the roars of the Powerstown supporters. A combination of Jack Bergin, Gavin Dalton and Jack Dalton responded with 0-3 for their side and kept Golden in the game. Going into the half time Powerstown led.

Upon their return to the field of play both sides were determined that it would be their side to lift the U13 C shield when the final whistle blew. Ben D’Arcy, supported by Thomas Charles and Liam McGrath would score no less than 1-01 for Powerstown. Aaron Colohan led the charge for Golden and earned a trio of points for their efforts.

 Such was the skill and determination of both sides that the game was to go right down to the wire. As the final whistle blew it was to be only a few points that separated both sides. Powerstown would go on to lift the shield with victory for their side.

 Powerstown National School 1.Peter Boland, 2.Lucas Sheil, 3.Darragh McDonagh, 4. Michael O’ Reilly, 5. Michael Phelan, 6. Ben O’ Donovan, 7. Thomas Charles, 8. Liam McGrath, 9.Harry O’ Keeffe, 10. Cathal O’ Gorman, 11. Jake Forristal, 12. Ben D’Arcy, 13. Jack Brennan, 14. Cianan Power, 15. Ralph Kerry, 16. Conor O’ Gorman, 17. Patrick McGarry, 18. Matthew Buckley, 19. Davy Brennan, 20. Cian Flaherty, 21.Bill Looby.

Principal: Eugene Fogarty.

Coaches: Billy Hewitt & Diarmuid Burke

Golden N.S. 1. Daniel Quealy 2. Ryan McKnight 3. Ciarán Byrne 4. Tyler Barry 5. Padraig Dalton 6. Jack Bergin 7. Jack Dalton 8. Jamie Moloney 9. James Finn 10. Aaron Colohan 11. Harry Fogarty 12. Gavin Dalton 13. Conor Ryan 14. Mikey Taylor 15. Sean White 16. Barry Molumby 17. Eoghan White 18. Cillian Burke 19. Lauren Dalton 20. Conor Smith 21. Evan Ryan 22. Paddy Corcaran 23 Rian Moloney.

Principal/Coach: Thomas Lyng.